Monkey Spray…

As is routine on Sunday mornings, I am awakened at least three times by our daughters: each requesting a ‘snuggle’ in our bed.  I love it.  This morning, our daughters were in a particularly goofy mood: pretending to be babies, then puppies and finally circus monkeys ( those of you who know me also know that I refer to the girls as ‘Circus Monkeys’ often, and with much adoration).  After a while, DH and I felt like we’d had enough sillyness, so we asked the girls to leave.  I applaud thier responses: instead of “No” they pointed out the advantages to allowing them to stay.  Among the offerings: back rubs, singing us a romantic lullaby, even promising not to make a sound.  Yeah, right!  As our daughters continued further protest, I reminded my husband of our stash of repellant Monkey Spray in the garage. He agreed and then headed to the garage to retrieve the spray bottle of water that we use, on ocassion, when the grill flares up. 

My husband gave our daughters one more chance to retreat, but they stood their Tempurpedic ‘ground’.  The girls got doused with water and made a hasty retreat, screaming all the way, with thier dad on their heels.  DH and I had sore sides from laughing so hard! We congratulated each other on our superior parenting creativity, then laughed at how silly we are in reality! The girls returned in a few minutes, toweling themselves off urging me to blog about the adventure.  Here it is!

3 Comments

  1. Dapoppins said,

    September 3, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    What is funnier…the monkey spray, or the girls telling you to blog-it!?

  2. September 3, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Dapoppins – I guess I’ll let my readers decide!

  3. JayMonster said,

    September 5, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    I of course see a completely different angle in that, by standing their ground they force DH to get YOUR bed wet, whereas they could retreat to their dry beds (if they really wanted to) 😉


Leave a Reply

