It’s HOT.

Yes, I know it’s Texas.  Yes, I’ve lived here all but the first four years of my life (yep, Chicago-born).  I might not have been born here, but I got here just as fast as I could. I consider accumulations of snow to be a more novel experience than the occasional meteor shower.

That said, this year has been unseasonably cool in the DFW area.  We didn’t even reach the 100 degree mark until this month.  For days on end since the first of August, we’ve enjoyed stifling 100+ degree days.  I joined my daughters on a walk around the cul-de-sac this morning.  About 20 minutes worth of leisurely walking, then retreated to the cool A/C inside our house – soaked with sweat.  Another shower for me!  During that shower, I wrote the chorus to Weird Al’s    future parody of Justin Timberlake’s ‘Sexy Back’:  “I’m bringing sweaty back.”  🙂

4 Comments

  1. Melissa Wood said,

    August 12, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    How funny. Before we moved to California three years ago, I had been in Texas all my life except for my first 4 years of life, which were also in the Chicago area.

    Glad to hear life is well aside from the heat. I’ve missed Texas (specifically, Dallas) since moving away. Mostly I miss the people, like your sister, Kelly. But California does have its benefits, like temps between 60 and 80 year round!

  2. ben said,

    August 13, 2007 at 11:05 am

    I hear ya’. We went swimming yesterday (while it was 100 out) and the water was not exactly cool. Kinda like having a bath with a bunch of people you don’t know.

    Ya know?

  3. Tee said,

    August 16, 2007 at 9:55 am

    ROFL!

  4. Mitch McDad said,

    August 23, 2007 at 12:35 am

    My wife wants us to move to Texas to be near her family. Just typing the word “Texas” makes me sweat.


Leave a Reply

