Okay. I’m still here, but…

I’m still bandaged, uncomfortable, on pain medication occasionally, unable to tell you what my new ‘size’ is for a few more weeks.  I am also thrilled with my new breasts!  For years I have suffered shoulder discomfort and backaches and have been putting off this surgery.  The first question is “Why wait so long?”  I can respond without hesitation: I wanted to be able to nurse my babies which was not guaranteed after such surgery.  Period.  The second question is: “Why now?”  I  find it more difficult to answer that question:  This was the opportunity that I saw: my daughters are all old enough to have a basic understanding of the surgery and are growing in their independence, my husband supported my decision to have the surgery,  my insurance offered to pick up the tab for such an expensive surgery.  My husband and I went to the hospital on April 19 feeling no anxiety.  The surgery was scheduled for 2PM, but was pushed back until after 4PM.  I checked in at noon.  Let’s just say that I had a nice long nap before, during and after the surgery!  My thoughts on the recovery before the surgery:  I’ve had the c-sections, which involve skin, nerves and at least two sets of muscles.  This surgery involved no muscle whatsoever, so it should be easy to bounce back from, right?  My thoughts on recovery after the surgery: damn!  Stubbed my toe again.  Where’s that Demerol?LOL!  Let me tell you that the pain was unlike any other I have experienced.  I have no visible sutures (my surgeon’s specialty), so I must wear a support bra 23 hours of every day.   I  am under doctor’s orders to avoid raising my heart rate, blood pressure or my arms.  Basically, I’m inactive.  Perfect opportunity to blog!!  So, I’m the kind of person who loves to answer any and all questions.  If you have one (or more), please do not hesitate to ask.  I’m here. Ask away!

7 Comments

  1. ben said,

    April 30, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    23 hours? Or 2 to 3 hours?

    Dang.

    Um, I’ll have to think of a real question. Glad to hear you’re doing OK.

    Here’s one for starters – tell us about your new home!

  2. May 1, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    yes, B. twenty-three hours. Eat, Sleep, Hang out ( since that’s all I can do for now) : Wearing the supportive (restrictive) brassiere-like garment Not a lto of fun. I guess there really in a price to be paid for beauty. Guess I better start paying the monthly installments…

  3. JayMonster said,

    May 2, 2007 at 8:08 am

    Ok, I have a question. How have you managed to keep your three princesses from climbing all over you during recovery?

    I know when I am “down” for anything (surgery, cold, whatever), my daughter’s fawning is… well… sometimes painful. I would imagine that would be excessively true in your case. So how have you managed to keep them at a distance? (Or have you?)

  4. May 2, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Jay, I love that all of my daughters are at an age where they can understand the basics of my surgery and recovery. They are frustrated by my inability to pick them up (or even hold them for ‘lap time’) or reach things on high shelves for them. That said, Rosie is the only one of my girls who insists on sitting in my lap and remains unaware of the deadly weapons God gave her: bony elbows. As long as I stay clear of her tiny, spiky joints, it’s all good!

    Thanks for the question and stopping by my blog today!

    Erin

  5. Karen said,

    May 5, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    I’m so glad the surgery went well. I know you will love the girls when you are completely healed. Congratulations!

  6. cmhl said,

    May 24, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    ohhhhhh, I didn’t realize you were having this done….!!! I have been toying with this idea since thing two was born, but haven’t decided for sure.. you’ll have to let me know if you are glad that you did it!!

  7. dapoppins said,

    May 31, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    Ooooh. The insurance is going to pick up the tab? Lovely. I would love to have my F size reduced to a nice D and put on correctly. I think the Lord Above played a joke on me and put them on upside down. When I stand on my had they look quite perky.


Leave a Reply

