More drama…

On December 23, my six year old, Catie, began complaining of pressure behind her right eardrum.  She was running no fever of any kind, so we treated it kindly with warm compresses and Tylenol.  Uh-oh.  Already, it begins.

Christmas Eve,  Catie was fine during the day, but after the gift exchange at Grandma’s, she decidedly looked like she was ailing.  Still no fever.  Even the outside of her ear was not red.  At all. We continued to treat the ‘sore ear’ with warm compresses and Tylenol.  On Christmas Day, Catie was perky (what child isn’t perky when presents loom before them?) and told me that her ear was not bothering her ‘at all’ (her words, not mine).  We headed to my Dad’s for Christmas Day, which requires the proper prerequisite rest and hydration.  Again, once we were done opening gifts, Catie began complaining about her ear hurting.  I was beginning to see a pattern…  Gifts to open = No discomfort of any kind.   Gift opening finished = discomfort/complaints about ear.  Oh boy.

Catie was STILL not running even a mild fever that night, but added her jaw to the complaint.  Can you say, “Breakfast will be oatmeal with a side of Tylenol?” The next morning, I had to finish up my Internship @ Massage Therapy school. When I got home later that day,  Catie was obviously in pain – I called the pediatrician’s office.  The doctor was out with a family emergency (he’s got three boys. it’s gonna happen!) and the backup female pediatrician was out of town until after New Year’s.  Oh, crap! The charge nurse told me what I already knew: Catie was not running a fever, so there was most likely not any kind of infection, just a buildup of fluid pressure.  Then, she told me something I did not know: giving Catie some decongestant might help to ease the pressure behind her eardrum.  The nurse also had me alternate Tylenol and Motrin every three hours.  Worked like a dream – until this morning

This morning, Catie woke to a wet spot on her pillow and a dripping flow from her right ear.  Her eardrum ruptured!  Crappity- crap-crap-crap!  Of course, we’ll have to wait until, oh, TUESDAY to see the pediatrician.  Catie is no longer in any pain – something to be thankful for!  When cleaning her ear today, I found what I believe is one of the set of tubes that were inserted in her eardrums when she was 16 months old.  They’ve been in there five years!  Looks like a tiny spool (if you own a sewing machine).

I’ll keep you (all two of you, plus Mom) updated.

**UPDATE**

Catie AND Halie saw the pediatrician today.  Halie has strep throat and Catie’s eardrum has begun to heal on its own.  Both are on antibiotics for the next ten days.  Please pray for the rest of us that cuddled and smooched Halie all holiday season that our throats will not serve as festering petri dishes for the strep bacteria!

7 Comments

  1. Latte Man said,

    January 1, 2007 at 10:32 am

    OMG, I am so sorry.

    Get well soon Catie!

  2. Jenn M. said,

    January 1, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    OMG!! That sounds terrible! Poor kid. I bet her ear felt better after it ruptured because all the pressure disapeared. That’s not emergent enough to see someone right way?? Does it affect her hearing?

  3. jerseytjej said,

    January 2, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    They left it in there?????
    Maybe it was what allowed the drum to rupture??+I have no idea but the idea of a ruptured eardrum is so not pleasing! Thank you so much for the kind words and cheer me up you left! I had to hear Chumbawumba on your Myspace, but am not a member and could not leave a message! I will be back soon, and update about the ear, please!!!!

  4. Diana said,

    January 3, 2007 at 10:26 am

    OMG, it ruptured? I would have been freaking out! And in the ER.
    I can’t believe they didn’t at least tell you to go there, but I guess they are supposed to know better than us, right?
    Here’s to total health in your home!

  5. emmers said,

    January 4, 2007 at 3:05 am

    OUCHIE!
    Decongestant is good for ear infections too, because it opens up the nasal AND ear tubes. You might have known that but since I was a mom for *years* before I found that out, I can bequeath you my worldly wisdom. (Big whoop) hehe.

    Glad she is better though and no more sick bugs. Hang in there…

  6. January 6, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    I was browsing around and caught your blog entry. We’re going through the same thing but it’s my wife who has the ear infection. It sounds simple to most people but they don’t realize how it can completely lay someone out. She’s been getting them since she was a little girl. Her eardrum ruptured once and she thinks it has this time too.
    I hope everyone over at your place get better soon!

  7. Poppy said,

    January 6, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    Holy moley! Poor Catie! I hope everyone feels better soon.


Leave a Reply

