O’ Dark Hundred Hours

 My oldest daughter, Halie, turned 8 on December 7.  She graciously agreed to wait for a birthday celebration until December 17.   My daughter was well compensated for her patience.  Among the wonderful gifts was a gift I never imagined her desiring – ever : rollerblades.   Halie put them on before the party was over and was skating up and down the sidewalk in front of our house while we all watched.  She mastered them that same day! 

The next morning, it was back to school (Monday).  At 5AM, I saw a shadow in the hallway, outside my bedroom door – It was Halie: completely dressed for school, but also outfitted with helmet, gloves, pads and rollerblades.  My eight year old seemed to be trying to sneak in a skate around the living room before school without waking us up.  I jabbed my husband hard in one shoulder – repeatedly.  When I had his attention, I simply pointed down the hallway.   He called out to our daughter, “Halie? What are you doing?” She answered solemnly, “Well, my teacher said that if I get up extra early, I can have some time to do what I want to do before I have to get ready for school.  I like rollerblading, so that’s what I’m doing.” 

 WOW!  I had no words.  My husband just asked Halie to be careful around the TV and not to move the furniture.  Then he sent our daughter on her way.  My husband rolled over, saw the look on my face, and said, “You know what? Halie’s inspired me to use this morning to do whatever I want to do. I’m going back to sleep!

In the end, Halie was happy (not her usual grumpy morning self), and I asked her to thank her teacher for giving her such good advice.  Halie had a great day at school! When my daughter came home, she told me that the teacher passed a ‘Thank You’ right back to me.

I think Halie’s sisters might be getting some of their own rollerblades for Christmas!

(Sorry.  Having problems getting my photos loaded on WP.  Check out the pics of Halie skating over on myFlikr Photos page)

Have a Merry Christmas!

2 Comments

  1. Diana said,

    December 21, 2006 at 3:06 pm

    That would have left me speechless, too.
    She’s too cute.
    Merry Christmas Erin.

  2. Liz said,

    December 22, 2006 at 2:09 pm

    That was some great advice – though, I did snicker at your husband telling her to, “…be careful around the furniture…” – and I think I’ll join you…going back to bed, I mean ;o)

    Merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

