Happy Birthday Halie!

Halie December 1998 I remember the day you were born with such clarity: The doctors were concerned that you we’re too immature to be born so early, but my body was creating an environment for you that was less than favorable.  We all decided that you would be better off on the outside rather than on the inside

My body was not ready to give you up!  Almost as soon as the doctors and nurses spoke of trying to induce labor, your heart rate began to plummet.  When it did not return to normal, we were off to the operating room.  This is where my memory gets a little fuzzy.  Honestly, if your daddy hadn’t video-taped your delivery, I wouldn’t remember any of it. 

On the video of your birth, I hear your birth weight being announced: 5 pounds, 14 ounces, followed by the pediatrician yelling, “She’s a keeper!”  I have told you that my heart gained exactly 5 pounds and 14 ounces that cold December morning. You were presented to me just before you were taken to the nursery, and I began singing ‘Happy Birthday’ as tears rolled down my cheeks.  Before I was through, your daddy and all of the staff in the O.R. were singing to celebrate your birthday!

At 7:36 this morning, you officially turned eight years old.  You were born, I blinked, and here you are on your eighth birthday.

  Thank you for blessing me every day, Princess Halie, Your Cuteness.

Halie turns 8!

8 Comments

  1. Karen said,

    December 7, 2006 at 10:12 am

    Beautiful.

  2. Latte Man said,

    December 7, 2006 at 2:19 pm

    Happy Birthday Halie!

  3. jerseytjej said,

    December 9, 2006 at 2:50 pm

    PULEEZE ask the Mister to publish a photo of the 26oo for me!!!! I got goose flesh just hearing about it and The Hubbs has never seen it!!!

  4. Jenn M. said,

    December 11, 2006 at 9:00 am

    I hope you had a great, safe, and fun birthday kiddo!

  5. Diana said,

    December 12, 2006 at 3:40 pm

    Happy (belated) birthday! What a cute little baby pic!

  6. Tee said,

    December 13, 2006 at 2:38 pm

    Awwwwh 🙂 My oldest turned 8 in Aug.

    Happy Bday Halie!

  7. mrs. nygren said,

    December 14, 2006 at 2:07 pm

    Oh Em Gee, that picture looks so much like the ones of you as a kid, you’d think she was cloned rather than conceived…
    You’re almost as lucky to have her as she is to have you.
    🙂

  8. December 17, 2006 at 8:07 pm

    […] Anyone?  Anyone? Bueller?  Although I unboxed my (fake) Christmas tree the weekend after Thanksgiving, getting it completely decorated has been a long process.  Today, we invited all of the family to be here to celebrate Halie’s eighth birthday.  So, while I had the camera out anyway, I figured I’d share a photo of our indoor Christmas decorations:   […]


Leave a Reply

