Part 2 of 2 for testing out of Swedish Massage was TODAY.  Several of the Licensed Massage Therapists employed by the Institute had to volunteer to be massaged  by each of the eight ladies in my class, then offer critiques. The Licensed Therapist that was chosen for me to massage?  The founder of our Institute, Mr. Anderson. ( I know, I know.  He’s never SEEN any of the Matrix movies, so he doesn’t get it!) This is the  man who spoke before Texas Legislation (more than 20 years ago) to get clinical massage on the law books.  I therefore call him ‘The Godfather of Massage’.  There were others who stood beside him, sure, but he’s the only one I actually know.  Of all the students massaging for the ‘final exam’, it was ME who was brave  confident enough to volunteer to give Mr. Anderson a massage.  A one hour massage

He gave me some good feedback during the actual massage.  He had a suggestion or two when I was done, and when he filled out the critique form afterwards, he wrote “This woman was cut out for massage.”  How awesome is THAT? Coming from a man who’s been massaging/getting massaged for more than 20 years – I’m very flattered! 

Needless to say, I have aced all of my courses, including Swedish Massage (which was the last class) and I’ll be beginning my internship tomorrow.  For the lay people reading my blog, ‘Internship‘ is a fancy term we use down here in Texas for ‘practical massage’ or ‘practice on willing human guinea pigs’.

5 Comments

  1. Tee said,

    December 7, 2006 at 9:37 am

    Congratulations! What a compliment, too! You must be so proud 🙂

    If you need anyone to practice on I think I can find time in my schedule 😉 ROFL.

  2. jerseytjej said,

    December 8, 2006 at 2:01 am

    I ask my husband at least once a year what a Swedish massage is and he gives me the same answer ” a massage by a Swede…at least YOU know what I’m talking about!

  3. ben said,

    December 8, 2006 at 12:10 pm

    YAAAAAYYY!!!!

    My computer died. Dead dead (not even a massage could bring it back) so needless to say I’m getting behind. I knew you’d do great!

    Where do I sign up for the guinea pig status? 😉

  4. Diana said,

    December 12, 2006 at 3:39 pm

    That is AWESOME. Congrats!!!

  5. December 30, 2006 at 7:23 pm

    […] Catie was STILL not running even a mild fever that night, but added her jaw to the complaint.  Can you say, “Breakfast will be oatmeal with a side of Tylenol?” The next morning, I had to finish up my Internship @ Massage Therapy school. When I got home later that day,  Catie was obviously in pain – I called the pediatrician’s office.  The doctor was out with a family emergency (he’s got three boys. it’s gonna happen!) and the backup female pediatrician was out of town until after New Year’s.  Oh, crap! The charge nurse told me what I already knew: Catie was not running a fever, so there was most likely not any kind of infection, just a buildup of fluid pressure.  Then, she told me something I did not know: giving Catie some decongestant might help to ease the pressure behind her eardrum.  The nurse also had me alternate Tylenol and Motrin every three hours.  Worked like a dream – until this morning.  […]


Leave a Reply

