Christmas Shopping Continued

Our oldest daughter, Halie will be 8 on December 7, next week.  We have all of our Christmas shopping done for our three daughters (whew!), but we had still not purchased Halie’s birthday gift.  We are grateful and consider it a blessing that she was born on December 7 and not Jan 8, when she was supposed to arrive.  We do not group her birthday together with our Christmas celebration, as we have taught all of our daughters that Christmas is a time to celebrate Jesus’ birthday.  The one time we actually get gifts on someone else’s birthday! That said:

Halie really, really, really wants a Bratz doll.  We’ve told her that we’d like to wait until she’s at least ten years old.  If we intended to buy her a Bratz doll  today, however, this was the store to purchase it at.  There were aisles upon aisles of Bratz dolls and theiraccoutrements.  As we exited the first aisle, I saw 24-inch, plush, poseable dolls.  My husband, walking behind me, with his eyes wide, said, “Those girls are dressed like mini hoochie-mamas! Where is the Bratz Pimp doll with his pimp hat and cane?”  I laughed until I couldn’t breathe… Then decided we’d better buy Halie the magic-makeup Barbie styling head. 

Mission accomplished.  Maybe not politically correct, but side-splitting nonetheless!

So, my readers (both of you): How’s your holiday shopping going? 

7 Comments

  1. ben said,

    December 1, 2006 at 9:01 am

    I just spent way too much money on a PSP for my 9 year old. I haven’t even started on the other two yet, although looking at my checking account, they’ve GOT to cost less than his.

    Ho ho ho.

  2. Karen said,

    December 1, 2006 at 12:01 pm

    Don’t kill me, but I am finished. I will probably drown under catalogues and emails from places, but I did it all on line. I usually don’t get it done like that.
    As for birthdays, my daughter’s is Dec 18. We have always made it special, and she considers it ito be the 12 Days of Krissi! This year, I almost forgot her birthday.
    Happy shopping to all!

  3. Latte Man said,

    December 1, 2006 at 12:22 pm

    The day before you wrote this, I went on a similar rant about those hideous Bratz Dolls. (Although I also whined about those “Make Up Heads” as well).

    I have gotten exactly ZERO shopping done so far, although I plan on doing the vast majority of it online over the weekend, and then pickup what is left during the week.

    So far, except for Black Friday, the stores have been surprisingly empty considering the shopping season has begun. So, hopefully it won’t be too bad.

  4. Tee said,

    December 1, 2006 at 9:44 pm

    LOL – Those BRATZ dolls seriously make me feel insecure. Am I supposed to look like that? :p

  5. jerseytjej said,

    December 3, 2006 at 3:29 am

    That photo is so cute, and I love the night gowns!!! We broke our rule and brought Barbie and Bratz dolls and the bustiers are lost, the platform boots are no longer a pair and all that being said, I would settle for a set of sheets so she could look at them instead. They are almost $25.00 and up apiece and at age 8 she definately was not ready…
    (Off to design the pimp cup walking stick out of the missing handbag)

  6. jerseytjej said,

    December 3, 2006 at 3:29 am

    ps…NULL, nada, ZERO done in the shopping department…

  7. Jenn M. said,

    December 4, 2006 at 8:50 am

    Ug. I hate those Bratz dolls. My oldest had them when they first came out, but I won’t buy them for my 5 yr old. Did you notice that Barbie seems to have gone all teenage whore-y too? Right now I’m on the hunt for a Baby Alive doll. Cause I need more poopy diapers to clean ;0)


Leave a Reply

