Dinner Time!

Last night was a special PTA function:  The whole family was welcome to attend a fun family night at the elementary school where my oldest two daughters attend.  They offered  free hot dogs, chips, cookies for dessert, and water to drink.  When my daughters and I arrived at 6PM, they were still setting up the meal, so the four of us continued to the gymnasium, where I was told already had a gigantic bouncy house set up. 

Don’t laugh.  That’s what my kids call it.  That’s what I call it! 

All three of my daughters made a beeline to the gym, tossed their shoes on the floor and piled in.  Instantly, all three were squealing with delight.  After a few minutes, the principal came into the gym and announced that the hot dogs were ready.  Halie and Catie made a hasty exit from the bouncy house, and began scrambling to find the shoes they could not have cared less about a few minutes earlier.   Rosie, on the other hand, stayed in the farthest corner of the bouncy house and refused to acknowledge me, no matter how I called her name.  The principal, standing beside me, said “I think you’ll have to go in and get her.”  I shook my head and told him, “Watch.”  I cupped my hands around my mouth and called out, “Rosie, DINNER TIME!”  Rosie turned around, met my gaze and came barreling through the kids still in the bouncy house, repeating “Dinnuh time! Dinnuh time! Dinnuh time! “.  I looked at the principal and smiled.  I told him that no one comes between my daughters and their dinners! 

 🙂

1 Comment

  1. Julie said,

    September 30, 2006 at 8:12 am

    LOL. My kids are like that too. No matter how fun something is, it is completely overcome when dinner comes around.


Leave a Reply

