As if I wasn’t already in enough pain…

The pain in my rear is almost gone. Thank you for your prayers and concerns!  The calm in my life is rather short-lived these days. You see, dear reader, I took a spill after school on Wednesday as I headed out to pick up some lunch from a local Mexican food place.  I was in great mood that day (not unusual right after school), happy and oblivious, and I misjudged the step up to the sidewalk from the parking lot.  Yes, I tripped over the curb! As I fell, I slid across the sidewalk to the grass on the other side, where my face landed. Wait. Let me be totally honest: there was no way to gracefully recover from such a tumble.  I just had to laugh at myself!

Since the weather has been beautiful in Dallas this week, two nurses were dining outdoors and saw the entire incident.  As I lay still, face down, in the grass, I heard one nurse say to the other, “Oh my goodness! Do you think she’s unconscious?”  I heard the other nurse call out, “Ma’am? Are you okay?”  I responded by hopping up and saying, “I’m okay.  It’s just some skin and it will grow back, right?”  I headed into the restaurant, where I was greeted by two local police officers who had been dining inside, near a large window.  The first officer asked me, “Are you going to be alright?” The second officer asked me where I was injured.  I showed him my elbows and told him that the restaurant, like any owner of a potentially dangerous animal, needed a sign to warn customers.  “That sidewalk just jumped up and took a bite out of my arm with no warning!" Both officers laughed and told me that I should expect to be sore the next day.  It wasn’t until I got home later that I saw a bloody spot on my scrubs and found that my left knee was missing some flesh.  I cleaned up my owwies, went to bed, and woke up the next morning – VERY SORE. I went for a delicious burrito on Wednesday and ended up with one , but only after I was served a Grass Sandwich as an appetizer.

On top of all of this drama, I’m studying the systems of our body in the Anatomy and Physiology course that I’m taking.  On Tuesday we learned about the skeletal system. On Wednesday (when I took the spill), we learned about the muscular system (where all the muscles attach to bones and joints). On Thursday, when I was really sore, we covered the nervous system.  So now I know all of the bones, joints, muscles and nerves that might be injured.  From a silly fall to the concrete. 

 Good thing I’m so well insulated!

7 Comments

  1. Karen said,

    September 23, 2006 at 11:15 am

    I’m glad you could retain your sense of humor, but I’m sorry it happened! You must have beentaking lessons from me. My husband never knows when, when we are walking together, he may end up walking alone! As I have gotten older, I am far more careful because old bones break faster and heal more slowly. Take care!

  2. September 23, 2006 at 12:35 pm

    yeowchie!!

    Oh, skin donor AND pride bulldozed. What else can you do but laugh? (OH, girlie, I feel your pain)

    You are a walking text book. Didn’t you study the skin when you got your hip infection? PLEASE don’t study anything terminal, only success stories of reputable therapists….

  3. September 23, 2006 at 10:39 pm

    Yes, Em, you’re right about the MRSA infection coinciding with our study of the skin! I’m going to continue studying all of the required material. I’m not an ‘ignorance is bliss’ kind of girl. I like knowing the inner workings of my body – when my back is hurting, I can identify the exact muscles and tendons that need to be relaxed to make myself more confortable. Knowledge is power!

  4. Diana said,

    September 25, 2006 at 9:50 am

    it must have been in the stars! I fell on Friday in my own backyard…
    Glad you’re okay. Nothing like scraping a knee to make you feel like a kid again, huh?

  5. Beth said,

    September 25, 2006 at 3:57 pm

    Oh, OUCH! I stepped in a grassy hole last weekend while schlepping water bottles at my sister’s rugby game, but mostly it was my pride that was hurt. Yes, it is noon and I’m already drunk (not), people! ;^) I hope all your boo-boos heal up quickly and you stay on your feet for a while after this. 🙂

  6. jerseytjej said,

    September 27, 2006 at 5:50 am

    Since I am preparing for a well deserved recovery from my knee surgery…I can say I have been avoiding people with colds and friends with “balance” issues, LOL!
    Glad you are on the better! And thank god for padding!

  7. Latte Man said,

    September 28, 2006 at 3:13 pm

    Alright… I have never said this to a woman before, but…

    What do we have to do to to keep your vertical?

    Jeez Louise. Good thing you don’t have icy weather down there 😉


Leave a Reply

