Anatomy

Monday begins my fourth week of A&P (Anatomy and Physiology for you non-science geeks), and we have four more to go.  My three fellow classmates (yep, only 3.  It’s a small class.) do not seem to be as interested in the amazing internal structure of our body as I am.  Nor do they seem to know the answers when the instructor asks a question.  I have had to use a special strategy to keep from coming off as a know-it-all.

 At one time, I knew all of the skeletal features in the human body, thanks to my EMT training ten years ago.  Since then, I’ve had a serious brain injury, which caused my brain to rewire itself.  Let me explain:  The part of my brain that was injured contained some memories that, after the accident, I was unable to recall.  I learned later that I just needed stimulus to be able to recall the information.  For instance, I couldn’t even remember my wedding to my Darling Husband.  Once I was home again, I watched the video of the ceremony, and I was able to recall facts that weren’t even on the video!  It’s not that I had lost the memories forever, it’s just that I need related stimulus to access the memories.  My brain has had to learn different routes to access the memory.

That said,  I have been waiting for an epiphany regarding my A&P knowlege.  What has happened is that I have not had an ‘Ah-ha!’ moment even once.  Surprisingly, when the instructor asks me a question that has the rest of the class (the other three teenagers) stumped,  I instantly KNOW the answer.  I don’t know HOW, but I already know the answer!  I shared this fact with my husband after the first few days of A&P class, and he warned me about alienating the rest of my classmates.  My DH also gave me an easy solution: When the teacher asks a question, and the answer pops into my mind, instead of blurting it out, I write the answer down in my notes.  Then, if the rest of the class is stumped and the intructor calls on me,  I’ve already got the answer written down.    It’s worked like a charm so far.

On the illness front, the doctor has given me permission and instructions to take care of the packing/unpacking of the wound at home.  I will remain on serious antibiotics for a few more days, but the doctor has told me to expect the site to continue to be tender for the next few months.  I’m already dreading the practical application portion of the Swedish Massage series, where we’ll be testing out our techniques on each other’s bodies.  Can you say “Ow!“, boys and girls?  Anyway,  this is the second day that I have not taken any Vicodin, and even without the medication, I’m feeling no pain.  I’m well on my way to putting the whole business *behind* me.  Thank you, Beth!

2 Comments

  1. Jaws said,

    September 18, 2006 at 7:50 am

    Wow sounds like you have been busy. I need to catch up after being gone all summer like every summer.

    Take care of yourself. Don’t over do it!

  2. Tee said,

    September 18, 2006 at 12:01 pm

    That’s fantastic! I’m glad you’re doing well. The part about your wedding video was really interesting. I learned something new. Is that common with brain injury or unique to your particular case?


Leave a Reply

