Another Update

This morning, I saw my doctor yet again.  Praise God that all these follow-up visits have been at no charge!

The doc is very pleased with my progress in healing.  I have definitely turned the corner with this infection.  I’ll continue to be on antibiotics for a few more days.  Trust me, when dealing with MRSA, it’s always better to be safe than sorry.  What’s a few more days if it means being certain that all the infection is gone for good?

I do still have a sizable hole in my left butt cheek, currently packed with antibiotic-laden gauze, which makes sitting rather uncomfortable.  While I do have pain meds to take (Vicodin), I did not take any today.  I even amazed myself with not automatically medicating myself this morning! 

The irony in this week has been the fact that we have been focused on the Integumentary System ( the skin ) of the human body.  In fact, we learned all about the layers of skin and how they serve as protection from pathogens.  It would seem that my own integumentary system let me down!

In any case, my next visit to follow-up with the doctor is on Saturday.  Hopefully, I’l get the all-clear at that point.  I’ll let you know.

5 Comments

  1. September 14, 2006 at 8:14 pm

    I put my other blog link up. It’s serious…it’ll make you pull out your Sarah McLachlan records. (okay, not that bad..)

    I’m glad you are doing better. you cannot mess around with that at all. Hope you up to snuff soon. Whatever snuff is?? I won’t tell.

  2. September 15, 2006 at 8:19 am

    Good news! Glad your on the mend 🙂

  3. Beth said,

    September 15, 2006 at 9:05 am

    I’m happy to hear you’re past the worst of it! May you continue to heal quickly, so you can put this all *behind* you. (Sorry, couldn’t resist.) ;^)

  4. Latte Man said,

    September 15, 2006 at 2:05 pm

    Well heck, with everything you have survived, did some silly old bacteria infection think it was going to keep you down for long? Ha!

    Glad to hear all is progressing well. I’m sure you’ll be back on your butt in no time 😉

  5. cmhl said,

    September 16, 2006 at 4:16 pm

    dang girl, that is a big deal!!!

    I hope you are feeling better!!


Leave a Reply

