We’re all in school!

Except for me.  On Fridays.  Yep, you heard me correctly.  I have classes at the institute Monday through Thursday.  Fridays I don’t.  I have the entire house to myself today.  What am I going to do, you might ask?  Sleep.  With my husband’s blessing.  But not before I post the long-awaited ‘First Day of School’ pictures.  I do not have one of me in my scrubs (yet), but will add one to this same post by Monday.  The girls are below:   I have to apologize that I have not learned how to make the pictures pop up in their own individual page, like Ben has. Silly Old Bear? Very cool.  Me? Not so cool.  And yes, my daughters really are that tiny in real life.  So was I before surviving four pregnancies in about four years.

hpim1494.JPGhpim1489.JPGhpim1485.JPGYes, each of my daughters got the teachers that I wanted for them.  LISD is an good school district, and the school that Halie and Catie are going to is celebrating it’s 17th year.  The administration (principals, counselors) are stellar, and the teaching staff is phenomenal.  The school is decidedly a gem. Halie and Catie are still excited to wake up and get to school each day.  Don’t worry.  About Christmastime, the ‘newness’ of school will have worn off!

Rosie is going to a new school (opened in Fall of 2005) that is designed for tiny kids with special needs. A bus picks her up everyday before school and drops her off afterward.  She is on the tiny side (at just 30 lbs), so they even have a car seat in the bus!  At the school there is a playground outdoors if the weather is accommodating, and a similar playground INSIDE if Mother Nature has PMS.  Needless to say, Rosie loves school, and everyone at the school loves Rosie. 

Me? I’m loving Massage Therapy school, to spite the fact that it’s been only two BORING days.  We’re going over what my teacher calls ‘Fru-Fru’ Hydrotherapy.  In layman-speak, that’s water treatments: whirlpool, bath, ice packs, heat treatments, body wraps, salt glows, etc.  I honestly never thought of soaking my feet at the end of the day as ‘hydrotherapy’.  Now, I is an edjumicated persen. 

My teacher is a young man (maybe younger than me), who has a five year old and a two year old.  He asked me the breakdown of my family dynamic.  He asked me to tell my husband that DH can come over to his house if he just wants to hang out with another guy.  Um, okay then.  the teacher, C., is very laid back and well-educated, well-practiced in massage therapy.  My class is mostly teenagers, one woman changing careers, and a man who’s older than me that I cannot figure out.  We’re a good mix of students. Nine of us.  I promise to post a photo of me in scrubs by Monday!

Thank you for being so patient while I allowed the dust to settle after the crazy first-day-of-school dust storm that blew through my house.  I’m now officially back to blogging.  When I get to the Anatomy and Physiology portion of my schooling, I may take another ‘pause’.  Trust me, there will be plenty of warning before then.

4 Comments

  1. Lindsay said,

    August 19, 2006 at 11:26 am

    Good luck with your schooling- if you have any A&P questions feel free to ask away, I can help as best I can. The girls looked pumped for the first day of school- it won’t last long! 😉

  2. August 19, 2006 at 10:56 pm

    How exciting for you!! Yes, you must post pics.

    By the way, you can put me under Fueled by Coffee since I have moved. I can’t wait for Blogger Beta! It’s going to be SUPER!!

  3. jerseytjej said,

    August 21, 2006 at 4:10 am

    I am also doing the happy dance as I have survived summer and the kids are officially in the bosom of the school once more! God bless all teachers everywhere, because I surely could not do it! I have the most respect fot those in education all over the world!
    the girls look so sweet going to school! I forgot my camera:-(

  4. Beth said,

    August 22, 2006 at 6:29 pm

    Congratulations on your new school adventure. I admire your guts and determination. As for any body imperfections, massage therapists see all sorts of bodies, so I hope you don’t worry too much about adhering to someone else’s (society’s) body notions. What an exciting path you’re on! 🙂


Leave a Reply

