Happy Birthday Baby!

Rosie: Three years ago today, no one ( including me) was certain that you would be okay. You continued to thrive in my body, unaffected by the violent accident that did so much damage to me. You continued to impress nurses and doctors alike with your burlesque within my belly, creating impressive bumps and waves for them to watch. Sleeping while I was pregnant with each of your sisters was never easy, but with you, my broken neck and pelvis made it even more uncomfortable. Or maybe it was just the hospital bed. In your last days of growing in my belly, you took every opportunity to stretch to the limits of your tiny body, taking up every inch of available space between my pelvis and my rib cage. I felt like Ripley in ‘Alien’, and when you finally relaxed and fell asleep, I was greeted by the feeling of fire at the back of my throat. Many women (including your Granny) told me that severe heartburn was a sure sign that you would be a redhead. Old wives tale, I guess.
When you were delivered at 8:04 AM, three years ago this morning, I waited to hear you cry. Then, I cried. I was so glad to hear it, and I had two month’s worth of tears saved up for such an occasion. You might wonder, sweet Rosie,  how I could have enough room in my heart to love three daughters. I’ll tell you what I told your sisters: At the moment that you were born, my heart gained exactly what you weighed at that moment. Seven pounds and one ounce.

Happy Birthday to my Trinity Rose.


10 Comments

  1. JayMonster said,

    July 30, 2006 at 10:40 am

    Happy Birthday Rosie!

  2. Julie said,

    July 30, 2006 at 8:56 pm

    Happy Birthday Rosie!

  3. buffi said,

    July 31, 2006 at 12:43 am

    Awww! Happy birthday sweet Rosie!

  4. Jenn M. said,

    July 31, 2006 at 8:11 am

    That picture of baby Rosie is priceless! So cute. Happy birthday!!!

  5. Melissa Wood said,

    July 31, 2006 at 10:30 am

    Happy birthday to a precious birthday girl from another one. July 30 is just a VERY special day!

  6. Diana said,

    July 31, 2006 at 10:49 am

    Happy Birthday Rosie!

  7. Simone said,

    July 31, 2006 at 3:06 pm

    Happy Birthday!! Funny, she a day older than my Elijah! We were pregnant at the same time!

  8. Scott said,

    August 1, 2006 at 7:58 am

    What a time you two have gone through. That baby picture should be on the cover of a new line of baby food.

  9. Karen said,

    August 1, 2006 at 8:19 am

    Happy Birthday Rosie. You AND your mother are a miracle.

  10. jerseytjej said,

    August 1, 2006 at 12:02 pm

    Happy Birthday, Rosie! What a pretty name! Let’s see those birthday photo’s


Leave a Reply

