Butt Crack of Dawn…

I call it Oh-Dark-Hundred Hours, but my husband actually named this post today. I am awake in the pre-dawn hours this morning because my DH had to catch a flight to Houston, a business trip for the day.  My tots are still sleeping, in fact the only sounds in my house are the coffeemaker and the clickety-clack of my hunt-and-peck style of typing on the computer.  I have to tell you that last night, my husband and I were on a roll – making each other laugh.  After getting the girls’ fed their dinner (and ourselves as well), rooms cleaned and ready for bed, we tucked them in for the night.

Halie, mother hen that she is, sleeps in her own room while the youngest two share a room in bunk beds.  They sleep with their bedroom doors open, at right angles in the hallway.  There is a tension gate that we place in the bedroom doorway to keep Rosie from roaming free in the middle of the night (which she is known to do).  I’m used to hearing Halie ‘tattle’ on her siblings after lights out.  I have come to count on her to keep watch over her sisters.  Last night, as my DH and I were beginning a movie, I heard Halie proclaim: “Rosie’s messing with the gate!”, followed by a loud CRASH!  Rosie had thrown her little body against the gate and popped it out of the doorway, sending it crashing to the hallway floor.  I looked at my husband, who said, “Next time, I’m going to pony up the money for the electric gate!”

After twelve years, my Darling Husband is still making me laugh. WITH him, Not AT him.

8 Comments

  1. Jenn M. said,

    July 28, 2006 at 8:25 am

    Funny guy! Hope he has a safe flight:)

  2. July 28, 2006 at 8:33 am

    Thanks Jenn! I hate to see him leave, even if it’s only for a day. I cannot sleep alone, so it helps to know he’ll be home tonight!

  3. Diana said,

    July 28, 2006 at 9:38 am

    Funny!
    Those gates don’t work in my house. my son is a climber.

  4. July 28, 2006 at 10:26 am

    Diana – we have circus monkey for daughters…they climb anything that doesn’t have wheels on it, plus a few things that do!
    My husband actually bought a gate that’s intended for large dogs. It works when my toddler is not flinging herself against it in an attempt to break free.

  5. July 28, 2006 at 10:35 am

    Hey, the gate thing sounds good. I have been delaying putting Jack into a bed because I am afraid he will roam freely at night. Maybe I oughta try this.

  6. jerseytjej said,

    July 28, 2006 at 11:59 am

    The first time I tried to post on the new site I got a message saying that the size of the dynamic something or another was greater than…geez, I’m thinkin…I just wanna wave and say I was here…snort! Love the new home…I am also jumping ship. Soul Glow is awaition a renovation…the check is in the mail…lol

  7. jerseytjej said,

    July 28, 2006 at 12:00 pm

    btw…we call that time” zero dark hundred”

  8. July 28, 2006 at 12:16 pm

    Funny Gina, how we call that unhealthy hour the same thing!


Leave a Reply

