Happy Birthday to My Husband!

You’ve said a few things that hurt my feelings and made me feel very small. You have never made me feel less than beautiful and desirable.

You’ve questioned my discipline of our children. You have never questioned my ability to be a nurturing mother to our daughters.

You’ve left dirty dishes sitting on the kitchen counter just above the empty dishwasher. You have never refused a request to put away clean load of dishes.

I cannot remember the last time I got a gift that was originally your idea. You’ve never told me that I cannot have something I want.

You’ve left me alone with our rambunctious daughters for days at a time while you took a business trip. You never left me alone during the three weeks that I was in a coma .

Today is your birthday and I want you to know that I love you. I love you for all the things you never do, plus all the things you do on a regular basis so I don’t even have to think about it.

Happy Birthday, My Prince.

**My husband’s birthday is actually tomorrow, but we’ll be in the frantic pre-takeoff phase: ‘Ohmygoodness! Did you pack the toothbrush/razor/underwear?’, both excited and panicked, checking and double checking all the stuff in our house, then finally dropping the girls off at Mom and Dad’s house. so, I just thought I’d post it today.

Leave a Reply

