Glitter,Glitter Everywhere…

At Rosie’s naptime, I get my older two daughters set up to work on their computer or maybe even to watch Veggie Tales while I get Rosie settled down. It normally takes about five minutes to get Rosie almost to sleep (once she stops moving, she’s down for the count). Today took significantly longer than that, maybe 15 minutes. My seven year old and her five year old sister decided to create a surprise for DH, to present to him when he came home today. The ‘surprise’ involved creating a banner for his upcoming birthday, complete with excessive glitter. Glitter that Halie got as a gift from someonewhoisnothermother for Christmas last year, and she’s done fine with it, when supervised. So I hold Halie accountable for its use (misuse).

**sidenote: DH’s birthday is July 9, when we’ll be departing for our vacation. The girls want to be sure they get to celebrate their Daddy’s birthday as a family, so they set up this surprise with me yesterday. I baked DH’s favorite cake (cherry-chocolate), and even bought cards ‘from the kids’ to have the girls sign today. They came up with this glitter idea on. their. own. When I discovered them in the kitchen after the longer-than-usual storytime with Rosie, they were already in the process of hiding the evidence. My daughters did not do a stellar job, however. As they walked out of the kitchen past me, they were leaving glittery footprints behind them on the Pergo floor, chattering about putting on some sunscreen and going outside! Let’s just say that they didn’t get to do as they had planned. They got to surprise their Daddy, yes. Go outside? No. Catie cleaned off the table, so I sent her out to the living room. Halie got the privilege of vacuuming the entire kitchen floor. When they were finished, I could still see glitter everywhere, but decided that we needed to prepare for DH’s homecoming ‘surprise’, so I put off the deep-clean until evening chore time.

Yes, I hung the banner. Yes, the cake had a candle. Yes, we jumped out and shouted “Surprise!” Yes, the girls gave DH the birthday cards. Yes, I realize that my daughters are a week and a half early in wishing their Daddy a ‘Happy Birthday’, but you only turn 31 once in your lifetime, right?

Before shower and bedtime, Halie spent 30 minutes with a sink full of suds and a rag wiping up all the glitter on the kitchen floor. When I pointed out how long it took to clean up the mess, she said, “Wow! That’s longer than it took to make the banner!” Not only did she do the math in her head, Halie realized what an effort it takes to clean up that kind of a mess. My oldest daughter went to bed very pleased with herself today.

Leave a Reply

