Welcome Weekend


When DH’s mom and dad asked about taking Halie(7) and Catie(5) on the road for the holiday weekend, my answer was ‘yes‘. They left Friday evening, dropped mom off to stay the weekend with her mother and grandmother in Oklahoma, and continued on to the family farm in Kansas. DH and I had only Rosie and each other to enjoy the weekend with. We asked aloud, “What will we DO with ourselves?”

The answer quickly came in the form of water damage to the screen of our 65″ rear-projection television. The TV was off while ( I assumed) Rosie was playing in her room and I unloaded and reloaded the dishwasher. When I finished, I called Rosie into the living room to watch a show that she loves on Noggin. Well, when I turned the TV on, I noticed a mysterious solid black spot at the bottom left of the screen. I called my husband in, who investigated more closely and found the the bottom of the screen was dripping. At that moment, my exact thoughts: *Oh, crap!* Turns out, as I was busy in the kitchen, Rosie had sprayed the TV screen. Up close. With the only spray bottle that she could possibly reach: the Johnson’s Detangler. What can I say? She’s watched me clean her fingerprints of the TV screen daily for the last two years.
DH set about removing the screen from the body of the unit, having me balance it while he worked at dismantling the screen, separating the screen into its three unique layers and gently drying them off. My husband could have been angry (in fact, he was), but instead chose to say, “Gee, honey. I’ve always wanted to see the inside of my TV and learn about how it works. I’m glad I did this.” My sweet Prince Charming! (for you guys out there, we fixed the precious TV)

Saturday, DH had to work, so it was just me and Rosie at home. All day. My two year old was eating this up. She climbed into bed with us about 4AM and snuggled until 6. She did it again the next night. And the next. We finally realized that she has never spent a night alone in her room. My sweet girl may not have the words to say that she missed her sisters, but her actions gave it away!

Sunday, we spent the afternoon with my family at my dad’s. He grilled steaks for us (perfecto!), and dessert was fruit salad flavored with one bottle of Grand Marnier, topped with vanilla ice cream. DH, Rosie and I were the first carload there, and my toddler immediately headed out to the backyard. I put Rosie swim diaper on her, sprayed her with Bullfrog, and turned on the hose. Minutes later, my dad was lugging out the compressor to blow up the ‘whale’ kiddie-pool. Rosie immediately climbed in and stood there, waiting for the hose to fill it five inches deep. She spent the better part of an hour all alone in that splash pool, four feet from where I sat.
My sister Kelly, her husband Justin and their six-month-old son, Aidan joined us later. They also brought along some swim diapers and Aidan got to experience the pool for the very first time. My father was at the grill when he suddenly turned, and asked me, “What’s that sound?” Before I could even figure out what noise he was talking about, my dad answered his own question: “Is that Rosie? She does talk! I’ve just never been able to hear her over the other two girls.” Hahahaha! Good one, Dad. For those of you who have never shared breathable air with my five and seven year old daughters: It is quite tough to get a word in edgewise in our home.

Monday morning, as I woke to find Rosie nestled in my ‘pillows‘, I was thinking about what I miss about Halie and Catie. Actually, my mind wandered FIRST to what I do not miss: bickering, tattling, cleaning up after them. As it turns out, those are the exact reason that I DO miss them. I should say ‘DID’ miss them, since they returned home, sunkissed, safe and sound about 8PM. Each of them greeted me individually, throwing their long arms around my neck and telling me of how much they had missed me and asking if I had missed them or if Rosie had cried while they were gone. *sigh* It’s good to have my daughters home.

Rather than dealing with Blogger that will only let me upload ONE. STINKING. PICTURE. AT. A. TIME today, click on my Flickr badge over on the right. Under my ‘Rosie’ Set ====>

Leave a Reply

