Immigration?

I live in Texas, where lots of immigrants make their new home. We have people come into our country every day and they take, take, TAKE. These total strangers suck us dry: eating our food, wanting to reside in our homes and not paying taxes. The very least they could do is learn English! I’ve personally taught two ‘immigrants’ enough English to have them pass as American, but I’m still working on the third. Translating from ‘Toddler’ to English is harder than it seems.

Rosie is limited in her verbal skills as of today, but I have a feeling that one day, my toddler will tap me on my groggy forehead one morning, and tell me, “Good morning, Mother. I’d like a Denver Omelet, hold the peppers, a slice of whole-grain toast and a glass of orange juice, please. ”

6 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    May 11, 2006 at 7:33 am

    I’m getting sick of this issue, and wish we would do something about it. Can you say third party?

  2. JayMonster said,

    May 11, 2006 at 8:17 am

    Me thinkst scott missed the point!

    Bwaaahaaaaaaa!

    The problem is, once you teach these “immigrants” to speak english, at least for a while their favorite phrase seems to be, “I WANT…” 😉

  3. Anonymous said,

    May 11, 2006 at 10:20 am

    So true Jay… or “That’s Mine!!” Though I hear the five “immigrants” in my house keep screaming, “SHE/HE DID IT!”

    Julie – http://julie.marzhillstudios.com

  4. Simone said,

    May 11, 2006 at 2:25 pm

    God loves them all the same.

  5. Tee said,

    May 11, 2006 at 5:07 pm

    Soon enough Rosie will be speaking English so fluently you’ll want her to shut up so you can hear your own thoughts inside your head. Patience 😉

  6. May 11, 2006 at 7:44 pm

    Oh, enjoy those days, erin hehe. My 9 yr old WONT STOP to even breathe.


Leave a Reply

