Redneck Storm Shelter

The rains over the past three days have had me carefully watching for animals marching two-by-two up 35E near my home. We are grateful to have taught our daughters about thunderstorms, and the tornados that are sometimes present with them here in Texas. My oldest daughter, 7 year old Halie, is a spirited child who (I’m sure) will one day drive a big truck with a decal across the back window that reads: AIN’T SKEERED!! After watching Twister last year, Halie asked about building a storm shelter for our family to take cover in, should we be faced with a F5 tornado here in the DFW metroplex.

Thanks for the picture, Dad!

11 Comments

  1. JayMonster said,

    May 8, 2006 at 9:49 am

    Why is it that tornados (seemingly)NEVER hit the major city areas? You never hear, “Downtown DFW was hit by a …” it is always somewhere on the outskirts or suburbs.

    And how many need to die before somebody realizes, “God hates mobile homes?”

    BTW, I LOVED twister, but loved even more that I do not live in an area where they “frequently appear”

  2. Lucinda said,

    May 8, 2006 at 10:45 am

    Great pic! I’m glad you’re all okay. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Diana said,

    May 8, 2006 at 12:41 pm

    *Giggling at Jay’s comment*
    I, too am glad not to be near tornado areas, my panicking alone would scare everyone to death. I’m in New England, where everyone’s basements/pantry’s are full of stuff they stocked up on for the hurricanes we never get hit by. (Just because I said that we’ll get hit this year, watch…)

  4. May 8, 2006 at 1:43 pm

    That’s an amazing picture. Would people be safe in that?

    I’m terrified of all natural disasters.

  5. Zephra said,

    May 8, 2006 at 2:13 pm

    Did you see the discovery channels show about the big F6 tornado and what it would be like if it hit Dallas? Scary. Could we get in your shelter too?

  6. JayMonster said,

    May 8, 2006 at 3:08 pm

    Zephra Of course, it is only theoretical since there has never been (recorded) an F6 tornado, nor is it believed that it would hold for very long if it did occur. (Not that anybody cares, but…

    http://www.tornadoproject.com/fscale/fscale.htm

    and Diana, The Atlantic Coast of the US is more likely to sustain a DIRECT hit from a Hurricane this year than at any time since 1938. So beware you may have just wished it on us ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. deputyswife said,

    May 8, 2006 at 5:59 pm

    I love it!

    I must send this picture to my uncle in Kentucky. Wait a second… it might have been taken in his back yard…

  8. Dapoppins said,

    May 8, 2006 at 8:10 pm

    My husband and I were talking about moving to Texas, I think he should be near his elderly father, but he wants to be where it is nice, like the coast, and I said , aren’t there Huricanes on the COAST…so now we will be needing to barrow that storm shelter of yours, it looks portable if we have a tractor, and a backhoe…ya’think?

  9. Diana said,

    May 9, 2006 at 11:04 am

    No fair Jay- now I’ll feel guilty if we get hit…
    Erin- I might want to borrow your shelter!!! (to get away from the screaming masses that want to tar-and-feather me)

  10. Anonymous said,

    May 9, 2006 at 9:40 pm

    Jay is wrong in one respect. At least one tornado that I know of has hit a major city. When we lived in St. Louis, one hit there. I’m pretty sure there has been two. My sister still lives there. Last year, she and her DH were traveling home in a storm and stopped because of hail. After the hail quit, they continued on and found the car that had been behind them before they stopped only 2 blocks further with a tree on top of it that had been blown down by a tornado. The roof of a liquer store was right beside it. She thanked God for keeping them safe.

    BTW, I love the picture. Too funny.

    Julie

  11. May 9, 2006 at 9:57 pm

    Salt Lake City got a huge tornado smack in downtown. It would have been an incredibly large one if not for the LARGE ROLLING HILLS in the downtown area. Very weird!

    Too bad they didn’t have one of them thar newfangled shelters! hehe.


Leave a Reply

