The ‘N’ Word

Rosie’s newest word (and apparently her new favorite) is ‘No’. Each time I make an offer to my toddler, she answers the standard, “No.” Even when it’s something she loves – like yogurt or ice cream. Then there’s a different negative answer she gives when I ask her to do something she does not want to do: “NO.” Much more emphatic, but still a little reserved. And then Rosie has moments like this morning. I directed her out of my bedroom, and she flopped down on the floor. I nudged her out into the hallway (yes, using my foot), where she began to scream: “NO! NO! NO!” Then my two year old commenced the flailing portion of her typical fit. I walked away, ignoring her. Seconds later, I heard her tiny feet slapping the Pergo in the hallway. As I rounded the corner, I saw Rosie jumping up and down, screaming “NO!” each time her feet hit the floor. So I heard, “NO! NO! NO! NO!” I decided that if I could not beat her, I’d join her. I jumped up and down shouting, “YES! YES! YES! YES!” Not only did my performance shock little Rosie, it made her end her antics. Then, my DH stuck his head out the bedroom door and quoted When Harry Met Sally: “I’ll have what she’s having!”

4 Comments

  1. Simone said,

    May 6, 2006 at 10:08 am

    I did actually have to laugh out loud reading this post!

  2. Grandma K said,

    May 6, 2006 at 1:16 pm

    My 22 month old grandson has the same response to questions. Even though you know he wants whatever it is, he says no. At least he hasn’t decided to jump up and down yelling no. You had a clever solution!

  3. JayMonster said,

    May 8, 2006 at 9:51 am

    ah, but be careful. My wife used this same solution. However, it eventually became a game as the little one would start the “NO! NO! NO!” just to get Mommy to perform her part.

  4. Diana said,

    May 8, 2006 at 12:37 pm

    My son shakes his head to say no. So i’ll offer him something (like-food) and he’ll shake his head no, grab it, still shaking his head, eat it…still shaking his head no! I’m surpirsed he doesn’t get dizzy.


Leave a Reply

