What’s a mom to eat?

I purchased a box of Honey Bunches of Oats, which proudly boasted ‘Good Source of Whole Grains’, and not-so-proudly listed Brown Sugar in the top five ingredients. That was roughly one week ago today. I have already heard my husband’s and my daughter’s glowing reviews: “Mmm! Hurmph-wrumph!” I woke this morning planning to have a bowl for breakfast. As is usual in my morning routine, I fed all the girls the breakfast food of their choosing: Halie had a bowl of Cheerios, Catie had a cinnamon waffle (dry), Rosie had her favorite – vanilla yogurt. Since I have to take my medications at least 30 minutes before eating, I decided to make the school run and eat when I returned. DH keeps the preschool-aged daughters while I take Halie to school, as his work schedule permits. Today was one of those days. I drove Halie to school, dropped her off, and drove straight home, my face was set for some cereal. I took down a bowl from the cabinet, grabbed a spoon, and my mouth was beginning to water as I lifted the box of cereal from the top of the refrigerator. As I poured it out into the bowl, I was a little disappointed. What I got was the very end of the box: Honey Bunches of Crumbs.

6 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    May 2, 2006 at 2:11 pm

    I’ve got some in my cabinet, away from the cereals the kids eat so they don’t know about it. LOL DH knows though and I’m sure he’s already been into it.

    Julie

  2. Diana said,

    May 2, 2006 at 3:28 pm

    OH NO!!!! I would have fainted! I loooove that cereal, I usually have to buy the “Family Size” but it’s just for meeeee.

  3. Lynn said,

    May 2, 2006 at 10:09 pm

    I’ve had this happen so many times that now I do like Julie, and have the cereal that Hubby and I like up in another cabinet, completely away from the rest of the cereal. I even have to stand on a chair to reach it.

  4. May 3, 2006 at 12:26 am

    lynn knows..hehe. Oh that STINKS!!!!!!!!

    and just the crumbs…

    how have you been ms. erin..I’ve been poopy about making rounds.

    I noticed your little icon in the addy bar (only shows in Mozilla) is out for the count (broken link) want me to send you the new linkage?

  5. Diana said,

    May 3, 2006 at 10:44 am

    I had to come and tell you- I made a trip to the market last night “to pick up some things to cook tomorrow”, ended up going straight to the cereal aisle and getting the family size box…
    got honey his own box of raisin bran (DON”T TOUCH MY CEREAL!!!)

  6. Mary said,

    May 3, 2006 at 3:49 pm

    Don’t you hate it when that happens? My father-in-law hides M&M’s from my mother-in-law in one of the antique canisters they supposedly have just for display on a high shelf. Sneaky, huh?


Leave a Reply

