Healthy Eating?

I regularly send my DH with a home cooked meal to eat for lunch or dinner (depending on his schedule for the day). We are striving to eat healthier meals, so last week I sent a meal of chicken breast with broccoli, peppers and penne pasta. I decided to add an apple and a snack-sized Ziplock bag of Pepperidge Farm Goldfish. While enjoying his lunch, my DH got comments from coworkers like, “Mmm. Smells good!” and “Looks delicious!”. Later, someone on his staff walked into the lunch room and said, “That looks really healthy, except for those goldfish crackers.” My DH told him, “I just read that I should be eating fish three times a week to get enough Omega3 fatty acids. You know, trying to be as healthy as possible!”

7 Comments

  1. Valerie said,

    May 1, 2006 at 9:58 am

    LOL!

  2. Anonymous said,

    May 1, 2006 at 10:45 am

    Great comeback. I love it.

    Julie

  3. JayMonster said,

    May 1, 2006 at 11:39 am

    bwwaaaaaahaaaaa!

    And who says that Goldfish crackers aren’t healthy? (Well not when you eat the whole bag at once, but a “serving of them” certain is not BAD.

  4. May 1, 2006 at 12:23 pm

    I’ve told my DH he should have a blog! He’s the one that tells me – the girls did ‘such-and-such’, you should put a post about it on your blog!

    I DO give him credit where credit is due. I’m not the only witty one in the family!

    jaymonster – I thought I was the only person who’d ever eaten a whole bag! Thanks for the encouragement.

  5. Grandma K said,

    May 1, 2006 at 1:35 pm

    I think you may be right – DH should have his own blog. That was a great comeback! I salute you sending him with healthy meals.

  6. Scott said,

    May 2, 2006 at 11:09 am

    I thought the co-worker would say, “Did your mom pack that for you?”

  7. Diana said,

    May 2, 2006 at 3:38 pm

    (My hubby steals my son’s goldfish…)
    When i send him lunch to work his co-workers are always commenting how their wives never feed them, and they always come and see what I packed.–>


Leave a Reply

