WHAT?!

“I am not a housewife for the simple reason that I did not marry a house.”

I’m not a Housewife! Does anyone else have a problem defining yourself when asked to fill out a generic form that asks your choice of career? My answer is: That. Depends. In 1997, I served in a Home Health Care capacity for a few months, and I would have checked off Nursing back then. In 1998, I was riding out with the San Angelo Fire Department, I would have checked off Medical Services. In 1996, I managed a Hallmark store, so I would have checked Management. In 1985, I waited tables, and would have checked off Food Service. Now, as a full-time Stay At Home Mom (since December 1998), I could check off all of those and more!

I hear many women saying, “I’m just a mom.” No. You. Are. Not. Just. A. Mom.

Please take a few minutes today to list all the things that would not get done the way they get done now if you suddenly vanished today. Please tell me how you define yourself when you leave comments. I realize that not every person who reads my blog is a SAHM. I invite you to give me your definition of yourself as well.

Be sure to stop by Hat Trick and see my lovely girls!

9 Comments

  1. Erin said,

    April 28, 2006 at 7:32 am

    My list could go on forever! I’m a: mom, cook, cleaner, launderer, peace keeper, finacial advisor, telephone operator, taxi driver, personal dresser, personal care assistant (aka, baths, toothbrushing, diaper changing, etc.), ironing queen, dish washer, secretary, administrator, CEO, CFO, fire fighter (rarely, thank goodness!), planner, executor (of bugs), teacher, student, leader, follower, athletic director, mentor, coach, prodder, nurse, doctor, dentist, vet, lawn technician, editor, typist, organiser, and comedian.

    I don’t define myself. I see my role as a mother, and as a person, as ever changing. One day I am soft and gentle, the next I’m a fireball of energy, completing tasks no one else with do. Plus, what fun would it be if I never changed? 😉

  2. mommyof4 said,

    April 28, 2006 at 7:35 am

    Link did not comeup. I define myself as homemaker and that is a jog bigger than all those jobs out there!:)

  3. Valerie said,

    April 28, 2006 at 8:18 am

    I define myself as a wife, mom, friend and lover. LOL but on those questions I always answer FTWM. full time working mom

  4. April 28, 2006 at 11:38 am

    You said it well! We are so much more than our jobs….rewarding as they are.

  5. Anonymous said,

    April 28, 2006 at 3:17 pm

    I tell people in a proud voice that I’m a stay at home mom who homeschools with my 5 kids between the ages of 8 and 2. Many people just back away and stare at me like I’m crazy. LOL I don’t need to mention all my jobs. That alone seems to overwhelm them.

    Julie – http://julie.marzhillstudios.com

  6. Jaws said,

    April 28, 2006 at 4:27 pm

    I prefer Domestic Goddess but then thats not on the list (snicker)..

    Managment, accounting.

    I HATE when my old mna says he is the glue that keeps our family together because he has a income.. I mean HATE HATE HATE it. Them fighting words right there.

  7. Zephra said,

    April 29, 2006 at 9:21 am

    I am a Mom. That is my job period. Sadly, with that comes a whole list of other “side jobs”.

  8. Lucinda said,

    April 29, 2006 at 1:29 pm

    I call myself a freelance writer and producer, but I’m not unafraid to check the “stay-at-home-mom” box in questionaires. I always fantasized about being a sahm when I was single and had a flashy career.

  9. JayMonster said,

    May 1, 2006 at 11:41 am

    I always thought a title like “Homestead Management Provider” would catch on.

    That being said, “Just a Mom” is a worthwhile title when speaking to people that understand what a horrifically difficult job that is.


Leave a Reply

