Monday Challenge!

Over at Owlhaven there’s a Monday Challenge: Take three photos in your home that are reflections of YOU! What small items or small areas do you have in your home that makes your home your own? What shows your personality?Post your photos with explanations on your blog by Tuesday evening and put the link in her comments section. Wednesday morning she’ll look at all the entries and choose one that she thinks shows the MOST personality or is the most interesting. Here are three of my favorite things, ones that make my house mine/ display my personality:


The first is my side of the master bathroom sink, with all my getting ready products. What can I say? I’m a Virgo, so looking good is essential!

I collect uniquely-constructed dolls, made to sit at the edge of a shelf. This is the orignal one, an angel of sorts, that got me started. My father’s sister, whom I most closely resemble, brought this to me while I was still at Baylor. The tiny card inside the netting reads: Sing like nobody’s listening… Dance like nobody’s watching! Behind her on the shelf is part of a collection of Matriochkas from Russia. My lovely sister, Kelly and her husband Justin brought back several: a large one for me (of course) and three smaller sets for each of my daughters.


I love this one! I love it that she is so glammed up, even carrying a shopping bag. The small ‘bag’ reads: Who are all these kids and why are they calling me mom? There are moments like that for me.

6 Comments

  1. owlhaven said,

    April 17, 2006 at 1:24 pm

    This is great! I love the ‘who are all these kids…” quote—it made me laugh!

    Thanks for playing!

    Mary, mom to many

  2. Dapoppins said,

    April 17, 2006 at 6:58 pm

    Helloo, had to come by ive been so busy and so lazy, I love the pics…your ‘getteing ready” area is much cleaner than mine…At some taching thing once the person said ” your kitchen equals your family relationship, your bedroom equals your marital relationship, and your bathroom is your self-relationship..What does your house say about you?” It was a woman’s motivational speaker thing, and I was so not agreeing with her ideas…and I think your dolls are soooo cute and very girly girly!

  3. Erin said,

    April 17, 2006 at 9:45 pm

    LOL! I love that quote! 🙂

  4. Jenn said,

    April 18, 2006 at 7:53 am

    I have a t-shirt w/that expression on it. My husband bought it for me. Nice collection!

  5. Lala's world said,

    April 19, 2006 at 12:00 am

    wow those are really interesting dolls…my parents have a restaurant and they put all sorts of neat things up and on the walls….they would love those dolls!! very cool!

  6. Jenny said,

    April 19, 2006 at 9:03 am

    I thought about painting that quote on my kitchen wall! Too funny. Instead I’m going with and old quote my great grandma used to say “were goes 30 so will 31″(Owlhaven would appreciate that) I think it must ryhme in Italian.

    I love Matriochkas, I used to play with a set at my Grandma’s house all the time.


Leave a Reply

