BITUMINOUS? by Shel Silverstein

The hard coal’s called bituminous,
Or is that anthracite?
Stalactites grow down from caves,
Or do I mean stalagmites?
Those fluffy clounds are nimbus
No – wait – they might be cumulus.
And that kid who was raised by wolves –
Was he Remus – or Romulus?
The brothauruses ate no meat.
Does that mean they’re carnivorous?
Or were they brontosauruses
And were they herbivorous?
A camel is a pachyderm
Or do I mean dromedary?
Is this match inflammable?
I thought it was incendiary.
Octagons – no hexagons
No, heptagons have seven sides.
And don’t spray fruit with pesticides
Or do I mean insecticides?
If I can see right through a thing,
Is it transparent – or translucent?
These are just some of the things
I find confusing…or confuscent.

2 Comments

  1. Jenny said,

    April 17, 2006 at 7:17 pm

    I love Shel Silverstein, my fav is “Hug-O-War”

    I will not play at tug o’ war.
    I’d rather play at hug o’ war,
    Where everyone hugs
    Instead of tugs,
    Where everyone giggles
    And rolls on the rug,
    Where everyone kisses,
    And everyone grins,
    And everyone cuddles,
    And everyone wins.

  2. April 18, 2006 at 10:00 pm

    Thanks Jenny! I memorized that one when I was nine or ten. My mother’s idea, as a way to keep me and my sister from beating each other senseless. Didn’t work!


Leave a Reply

