Political Positions

While driving The Princess to school this morning, I read thought-provoking bumper sticker: YOU CANNOT BE CATHOLIC AND PRO-ABORTION

I am not Catholic, nor am I pro-abortion. I believe that, as scripture says, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.” (Psalm 139:13)

While I am of the opinion that abortion is murder and I would never consider abortion an option for myself, I do not think that I should shove my beliefs down anyone’s throat. I also believe that government should back off on a lot of hot issues. I’m praying for the day that the US Government says, “Meh” and stops trying to rule our lives. I’m interested in your opinion, and yes, all opinions are welcome.

9 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    April 6, 2006 at 3:24 pm

    Too many people use abortion as a form of birth control. There are resources out there to be utilized and other options available for desperate women. We learn where babies come from at a fairly early age- there’s no sense in abortion.

  2. Anonymous said,

    April 6, 2006 at 5:18 pm

    That wasn’t me above. My opinion is that abortion is wrong as well. I support the local pregnancy care center so that pregnant girls can learn about an option other than abortion. They have an adoption program and a program to help the mothers get diapers and clothes for their kids. They have resources to help the mothers get state insurance, WIC, and food stamps if they need it.

    Best of all, they share the gospel while doing this, so mothers have a chance to learn how to be a Christian and maybe they will be able to bring up their children in church.

    Julie

  3. Erin said,

    April 6, 2006 at 6:23 pm

    I have posted my response on my site.

  4. April 7, 2006 at 11:07 am

    I am catholic but find it strange to pray to end abortion and then pray that our troops hurry up and kill the bad guys.

    Is killing wrong, or not?

    I’m also of the thought that this is a religious or moral issue more than a legal one and am really tired of trying to dictate what women can and can’t do to themselves in what is a very private matter.

    Catholics are also against birth control and medical intervention for fertility problems, if we need more to discuss 🙂

  5. Tee said,

    April 7, 2006 at 11:08 am

    I’m Christian and pro-life but I don’t force my opinions on anyone. What’s the point? Has everyone ever changed their view point by someone being aggresive and abrasive?

  6. Grandma K said,

    April 7, 2006 at 12:49 pm

    I think you said it all very well. I am not Catholic, and abortion is something I hate to see. It is not my place to impose my choice on someone else. If fact, I had to take my best friend to have an abortion once. How could I tell her I thought she was wrong when she was already going through so much psychological, as well as physical, pain.

  7. April 8, 2006 at 10:39 pm

    I’m Catholic, but I am pro-choice. I don’t believe women use it as a birth control, I think that comment is a little prejiduce actually. There’s a lot of poverty out there, there’s a lot of misinformation and lack of affordable health care, and even though I would not want ANYONE to have to go through the emotional pain of an abortion, in then end, I want the government’s hands off a woman’s body.

  8. Dapoppins said,

    April 10, 2006 at 7:01 pm

    In some states children can have abortions without their parents knowing about it. This is someone forcing their dangerous version of a woman’s rights on my family. As for bumper-sticker political activism…it doesn’t change anyone’s opinion, it’s just an easy way of expressing your own.

  9. Mary said,

    April 12, 2006 at 12:37 pm

    I am pro-life, but like tee, I think trying to force other people to be pro-life by changing a law is not going to work. I would much rather win people’s hearts over to the Lord one at a time and allow them to make godly decisions for themselves based on what they understand from the Bible, not what I tell them is right or wrong.


Leave a Reply

