114331383389089684

DH and I accompanied Mom to Sam’s this morning, planning to pick up those groceries we run out of frequently. Mom is a business owner, and as a perk, she gets a special shopping time before the store opens to the public each Saturday. Less than five minutes in the store, I started to see why I’ve heard folks call it the ‘200 dollar store’. Not a large selection of items, but if you need a lot of one or two things – you came to the right place! We bought what our home is always low on: frozen fruits and veggies. We also purchased 4.5 pounds of Parmesan Cheese (we like it on everything). We also found some vitamins that we have a tough time finding (flax seed oil). We wandered through every aisle in that humongous store, following Mom, who shopped as well. DH pointed out the Professional Espresso Machine, before I pointed out the price on the shelf: $400. I picked up some undershirts for DH, but skipped the 5 gallon jars of pickles. Also, who needs Sharpies, in packages of 24 colors, in BULK? Not my household. I thought pooptastrophes were the worst, until I started thinking of the permanent marker being used on the canvas of our humble home and all of its contents. I silently pray that no parent purchases those.

My own mother once repeated something she heard my grandmother say: ” I look forward to having enough money to afford the ‘Economy Size’.”

Well said, Grandma!

4 Comments

  1. HolyMama! said,

    March 25, 2006 at 2:53 pm

    Sam’s, the great Saturday Adventure in our home! FOrtunately, not EVERY Saturday, or I’d just go nuts.

  2. Zephra said,

    March 25, 2006 at 3:43 pm

    You touched on every reason I don’t shop at Sam’s….But I love to walk around there and look.

  3. mommyof4 said,

    March 26, 2006 at 7:43 am

    There are no longer any markers in my home. My baby likes to draw on herself with them I went through the house and threw them all away. I like Bj’s club better than sams.

  4. March 27, 2006 at 11:59 am

    Sam’s!

    We shop there at least once a week. I have our usual list just about memorised:

    Diapers (pullups, now) and wipes
    paper plates, toilet paper, paper towels – whenever we run out
    canned mandarin oranges (one case a week)
    pop-tarts! THREE DOZEN to a box!
    pre-suns (capri-suns, very useful as soccer snacks)
    vitamins
    wine (they take ‘cheap wine’ up a notch)
    milk and eggs
    sometimes a new movie or video game
    books

    yeah, mass consumerism at its finest. And they also have the cheapest gas in town, but you don’t have to go inside to buy that (but you do have to have a membership)


Leave a Reply

