Road Trip

Otherwise titled ‘How We Spent Spring Break’

On Saturday morning, after breakfast, we packed up my SUV and hit the road. Our plan? To make it to the family farm in Kansas. What’s normally an eight hour trip (traveling at Mach2) is hard on the girls, and especially tough on my ears. It might be called Vacation by most, but I’ve come to consider it ‘Work On Wheels’. I’m doing all the things I do at home everyday, in a different location. Luckily Grams and Gramps have great-grandkids around frequently, and do not leave valuable objects with easy reach of toddlers. Yep, you heard me correctly: my daughters have GREAT-GRANDPARENTS, who still care for 560+ acres of farm land and nearly 100 head of cattle. More on that later…

Our daughters tolerated the road trip well, considering we stopped several times to ‘potty and play’. DH was driving, and had burned a CD just for the trip. We were all rocking out to The Newsboys and Falling Up. Halie sang as loud as possible, Catie played ‘air guitar’, while Rosie kicked her legs like a NYC Rockette.
The License Plate Alphabet Game didn’t make it past ‘H’, but mooing at the cows was far more entertaining for the girls. As we passed each pasture, Rosie stared as if deep in thought. DH said, “Each field must appear to be a blank canvas, and all the paint she could ever use right at hand!”
We made it all the way to Oklahoma before we hit any kind of traffic, and only then heard several versions of “Are we there yet?” “We are we now, Dad?” DH told them “We’re in Traffic, Oklahoma.” A short time later, the three lanes condensed to one lane, and we heard that same question. This time, DH answered, “Construction, Oklahoma.”

The highway took us on a tour of sorts through many small towns. I noticed that there was always a WalMart. I used to consider them a sign of civilization, but now I’m wondering if WalMart is like The Borg.

I took hundreds of pictures, and I will share them with future posts, along with the rest of the stories of our family vacation. Another story tomorrow!

3 Comments

  1. mommyof4 said,

    March 20, 2006 at 7:04 am

    Maybe it’s the people who own walmart are borgs! I could never drive eight hours with my kids! Can’t wait to here about the ‘vaction’ part of it:)

  2. Zephra said,

    March 20, 2006 at 9:50 am

    I never thought of Walmart as the Borg but now that you mention it…

  3. Paige said,

    March 20, 2006 at 11:25 am

    I remember 18 hour trips when I was a kid. Fun… 6 people in a car with NO air conditioner. Thats family love. HUMM I wonder how they are doing anyway.


Leave a Reply

