Spring Break!

Next week is Spring Break. Our family will be taking advantage of the previous and subsequent weekends to enjoy our family vacation together. While my DH considers it ‘vacation’ to be away from work and visit with various family members, I don’t consider it one at all. Taking all three daughters on a road trip to the family farm in Kansas is, in my own words, ‘Work on Wheels’.

DH’s paternal grandparents (our daughters’ great-grandparents) own a very large farm in SE Kansas, and have lots of cattle to pet before it’s in our freezer at Christmas each year. And they take care of it all. The have enormous planting and harvesting machines, a front-end loader, a tractor or two, as well as a hay baler. Plus the massive trucks to take the crops to town. The girls call them what all the great-grandchildren call them: Grams and Gramps. I call them sweet blessings! They run the farm and always leave their door open for any family that wants to come and visit – at any time. They have lots of great-grandchildren, so they are used to keeping valuables out of reach, and if something gets broken, it’s not the end of the world. I can only remember my paternal grandfather, so I have come to love DH’s grandparents like they are my own.

Normally, I’d feel a small bit of anxiety about having all three daughters in the car for 8+ hours. DH tells me that our ‘vacation’ is going to be simple: We won’t be in a hurry to do anything. We’ll leave Saturday morning, after breakfast, and take our time on the drive to Kansas. He says we’ll stop to eat and play at a park or two to let the girls ‘get the silly out’. He also bought special fishing poles, so he girls can fish while we’re there (from Big Lots, thankyouverymuch), and we’re going to head home early, so we’re not rushed to unpack. Do you see why I call him ‘Prince Charming’?

We’ve talked about games to play on the road that will hold our daughters’ interest. They are seven and five, so I need a lot of ideas. I am asking you for any ideas that have kept your own kiddos occupied on the road. Thank you in advance for your help. Like I said, we’ll be leaving tomorrow morning after breakfast, and I’ll be back to blogging as soon as we’re back! Lots of good pictures to share as well…

7 Comments

  1. Valerie said,

    March 10, 2006 at 10:22 am

    I hope you guys have a great vacation, maybe try playing Ispy? I really have no ideas for you but I hope the girls are well behaved in the car.

  2. Lala's world said,

    March 10, 2006 at 12:42 pm

    wow sounds like a great vacation spot!!
    when I drive the 12 hour drive to my Uncle’s Ranch we sing a lot of songs..next time though I am going to get books on tape! I would rather my kids enjoy the scenery and use their imaginations over watching a dvd (not that I have one!) we also play double digits on license plates…if you see double numbers or letters you call them out.. simple I know but the girls love it… we also count trains and barns and things like that….I give them history lessons on what town we are driving through…hopefully they never get tested on it at school!!

  3. Tee said,

    March 10, 2006 at 2:20 pm

    Maybe I’m a bad Mom but I pack lot’s of snacks and movies (we have a TV/VCR in the car – these days you can buy them at Pep Boys as well if your car didn’t come with one.) Two hours pass like nothing watching a movie and eating popcorn. Then you give them a Leapster (which is like a GameBoy but educational) – That’s worth another hour atleast. (My kids LOVELOVELOVE them.) Then they can sleep, too.

    For more old fashioned family friendley ideas though, here’s some good sites:

    http://www.familytravelgames.com/

    http://travelwithkids.about.com/cs/carplanetips/a/amusekids.htm

    http://www.momsminivan.com/bigkids.html

    ….I lived in Kansas for about 2 years. It’s beautiful but many hours of driving straight with nothing to look at but wheat fields and windmills. LOL. At least when I lived there.

    How great for the kids to visit their grandparents farm. I have fond memeories of visiting my Great grandmother’s farm.

  4. mommyof4 said,

    March 10, 2006 at 6:39 pm

    A game we play while in the car is the alphabet game. Start with A and look for signs along the road the start with that letter than go all the way through the alphabet:) Have fun and can’t wait to hear about it.

  5. March 10, 2006 at 7:04 pm

    erin,
    will you be close to Elmo? Or Abilene??

    Have so much fun. What good memories for your kiddies!

  6. Lucinda said,

    March 10, 2006 at 8:44 pm

    The alphabet game is a good one and kept us all occupied on the road when my stepdaughters were younger. Everyone watches road signs and license plates until they find every letter in the alphabet. The first person to ‘z’ wins.

  7. Philip said,

    March 14, 2006 at 10:06 am

    It is work, and usually harder than being home with everything exactly where you need it and the good routines etc. But it’s still imperative to shake things up, have a change of pace and scenery, and have a vacation for *them* even if it’s not for you.

    I suggest the beach…much more fun for you as well as “work.”

    🙂


Leave a Reply

