Why? Why? Why?

I found a way to stop the ‘Why?’ in its tracks. I simply begin giving abstract answers.
For example, one weekend, I made waffles. Silly me! Somewhat like me trying to take all three daughters to WalMart to grocery shop when I’m pressed for time.

Halie: “Why do waffles have lots of little squares?”

me:”Because the waffle iron presses them into the batter as it cooks.”

Catie:”Does it hurt the waffle batter?”

me: “No.”

Halie: “Does the waffle iron get mad when you take away its breakfast?”

me: “Peanut Butter.”

Puzzled looks exchanged across the table

Catie: “Don’t you think it’s getting tired of working so hard and never getting to enjoy a waffle?

me: “Marshmallows.”

An exasperated sigh from both girls

Halie: “Do you think waffles have all those squares to hold the syrup?”

me: “Chocolate.”

The long-awaited silence…

Then:

Catie & Halie: “Yummy, Mom! Those sound like good toppings for our waffles!”

Darn!

7 Comments

  1. March 8, 2006 at 12:02 pm

    “mommy, can I have s’more?”

  2. Frog Legs said,

    March 8, 2006 at 1:47 pm

    🙂 You’re nice- I just ignore my kiddo when he starts in.

  3. Valerie said,

    March 8, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    OMG I just spit out Tea at the computer! That was so funny.

  4. Your Seester said,

    March 9, 2006 at 12:41 am

    You could also try responding with an equally inane question, like, “Waffles don’t even wear clothes, why do they need an iron anyway?”

    I am so going to ruin my poor little guy’s chances of being a “normal” kid… is it okay that I’m not sorry?

  5. Scott said,

    March 9, 2006 at 7:50 pm

    Hey, not bad. Not bad at all. I’ll have to remember that one. Good post.

  6. March 10, 2006 at 10:46 am

    K.J. – I’ll have to remember that one! Love you, my seester.

  7. Ruth said,

    March 10, 2006 at 9:13 pm

    Came across your blog. What a great idea!! I am going to have to use this with my kiddos!!


Leave a Reply

