It never gets old… **UPDATE**

The story of the miracle that is my very life never gets old. There are always people who have never heard the story, seen the pictures of the car, met my beautiful daughter who also survived. I am a willing participant in a genetic study that Baylor Research Foundation has going, so I got a call last month to speak at a reception. TONIGHT. Am I nervous? No. The fact that I’m not is a little disturbing for me. I ask for your prayers, both for me and the doctors speaking this evening. Mostly for the donors who will be in attendance. My prayer is that my story is the proof that they need to know that Baylor is forever conducting research that ultimately benefits patients.

I will post tomorrow about the event.

**UPDATE**
It was a very swank affair this evening, in the posh Dallas Design District. Let’s just say that we got to see how the other half lives. We were welcome to bring our daughters, but had to be thankful we left them at home with Grandma and Grandpa. We are worried enough about how to pay for three separate college tuitions and eventually three separate weddings. DH didn’t want to be working for the next ten years just to pay off the broken merchandise in the store!

God’s specific design for me as an impactor was driven home tonight. Not that I needed any further words of encouragement to be certain, but I know that I know that I know it’s His Design. The event was very intimate. 20 people max, and a subject about which I am very passionate: Baylor Research Institute. It is that very research that gave Baylor Institute for Rehabilitation (BIR) the clinical expertise to treat me back in the summer of 2003. What research did not give those doctors, nurses and therapists was the true heart that I believe I experienced while I was a patient at BIR. Baylor employs earthly angels, let me tell you. I enjoyed speaking tonight, because I am comfortable about the material and passionate about the continuing research that is going on.

At the beginning of February, I had a professional photographer spend an hour or so snapping shots of me with little Rosie in the back yard. One of those photos is posted on the Baylor Foundation website. Of course, you are given the opportunity to watch the story of my miserable accident and miraculous recovery. Please feel free to do so with my blessing!

Thank you to each of you who offered words of encouragement and lifted me up in prayer. I have made myself available to any and all opportunities to speak on Baylor’s behalf.

12 Comments

  1. Joy said,

    February 28, 2006 at 3:04 pm

    I’m speechless… I’m so awed by God’s miracle, Erin!

    With God nothing is impossible!

    My prayers for you. God bless!
    P.S. Bear hugs and kisses to your kiddos especially to Stinker :-))

  2. Jessie said,

    February 28, 2006 at 4:01 pm

    I will be praying for you tonite, Good Luck!

  3. Lala's world said,

    February 28, 2006 at 4:05 pm

    wow that is awesome that you are speaking!! I will have to go read your story so I know what you are speaking about!!!
    I am speaking this weekend too at my sis’s church’s womens retreat!! I am excited too and not nervous, some people have the gift that’s why I don’t think nerves are a problem!! good for you I look forward to hearing how it went!

  4. Anonymous said,

    February 28, 2006 at 5:57 pm

    I’m praying for you. I read your story when I first started coming here and it is a real miracle from God. I have a friend who was in a car accident his sophomore year in college (1997) and had major brain trauma. It took him a while, but he graduated about 2 years ago. He got a standing ovation. He is now working with the foundation that helped him. I wish I knew what it was.

    Julie

  5. Jenn said,

    February 28, 2006 at 6:10 pm

    I haven’t seen pictures of the car, but the story is amazing. Good luck tonite!

  6. February 28, 2006 at 10:50 pm

    Oh, I finally got to see the video! It’s so good to see you in person. What an amazing work God has done in you. amazing. Im am happy it went well.

  7. Erin said,

    February 28, 2006 at 10:52 pm

    Erin, I’m not a religious type. But your story is nothing short of a miracle. Absolutely amazing. Much love to you and your family.

  8. Grandma K said,

    March 1, 2006 at 8:16 am

    I recently followed a link and came to your blog, and I enjoy reading you. This account is a true miracle. You were certainly given another shot at life. Your healthy baby was another miracle. This story really touched me to my core.

  9. Zephra said,

    March 1, 2006 at 9:41 am

    What a wonderful story. You certainly are lucky to be here and by the grace of God, able to care your your kids. Thank you for the opportunity to hear your story.

  10. irene said,

    March 1, 2006 at 10:34 am

    oh Erin. I’m speechless too. your words. they are so powerful. so full of love and hope. thank you for sharing this. I will keep you in my prayers.

  11. cmhl said,

    March 1, 2006 at 11:38 am

    your story is amazing.

  12. Anonymous said,

    March 1, 2006 at 3:29 pm

    Thank you for sharing your story, you truly are an inspiration. : )


Leave a Reply

