Personal Questions…

…asked by complete strangers. At Walmart. When, on rare occasion, I take all three of my children out in public, I know that I’m just asking for nosy questions. Yet I do it anyway. Just so I can make those people laugh instantly, yet walk away mulling over what I said. Here are some versions of the questions that I am asked:

Are they all yours?

Actually, none of them are mine. I just like to stop at local daycare centers and take children that look like me.

All you have is girls?

Well, when I told God what I wanted was a single child, and a boy, He laughed and gave me exactly what He thought I needed. I’m raising myself times THREE!

Aren’t you going to try again (for a boy)?

No. We finally found a doctor that was able to explain to us how these babies keep happening, and he put a stop to that!

Oh, my! You must be so busy!

I was busy with just one, but I looked at my husband and said: ‘Why not have a couple more just like her?’

I must have an approachable aura about me. I love that. Really, I’m not at all insulted by these questions. I’m not afraid to answer these questions in front of my daughters. When I’m shopping with all three, however, I’m in a hurry to get finished. I’m not worried about what will happen to my daughters. I’m worried about what will happen to the store.

Take just a minute or two and see Chris’s personal questions about her boys!

11 Comments

  1. Lala's world said,

    February 24, 2006 at 11:07 am

    oh man I get those same questions all the time…my girls all look like different versions of me and they still ask..and love that going to try for a boy??? I am like are you insane…4 girl’s in not enough that I would attempt at “trying” for a boy…you know it would be another girl…and 5 girl’s ehhhgad!!

  2. Anonymous said,

    February 24, 2006 at 11:11 am

    I get those questions all the time too. I also get…

    “They know what causes that, you know” and I answer, “Really? Can you tell me?” I actually had one old woman think I was serious when I said that.

    Of course, I get the variation on the “all girls” question. “You have four girls and only one boy?” I wonder if there is something wrong with their eyes and they can’t tell if they really are girls and a boy.

    Julie

  3. February 24, 2006 at 11:18 am

    Ha! I just posted about this, too. We get a different set of questions because none of our kids look like us.

    It’s really funny in the summer when we go swimming, and my kids’ buddies come over and say “How come you aren’t black?” From the mouths of babes…

  4. Amy said,

    February 24, 2006 at 12:22 pm

    God I hate that “Are you going to try for a boy?” question. I have two beautiful girls who I love more every day, they are fulfilling enough even while being the “wrong” gender.

  5. deputyswife said,

    February 24, 2006 at 1:27 pm

    I get “Are you going to try for a girl?” all the time. Heck no, I ain’t trying for a girl. She would end up being a tomboy anyway with all of these guys.

    I really like your response to “All you have is girls?” That cracks me up.

    Maybe nosey Wal-Mart shoppers will beware after reading our posts. LOL. Funny thing is, it is at Wal-Mart where I get all of those questions too…

  6. Jenny said,

    February 25, 2006 at 10:39 am

    I just love your sense of humor! Great answers to those intrusive questions. You have beautiful children!
    Jenny

  7. February 25, 2006 at 2:24 pm

    People ask me that too, like I am the reason for world hunger having four kids. I always tell them, “Yeah, they are mine. Are you kidding, their dad is HOT!”

  8. Joy said,

    February 25, 2006 at 4:09 pm

    very witty responses, love it!

    and yes, 3 kids with mom at Walmart, you really have to finish shopping real quick (and I only have one!)!

  9. HolyMama! said,

    February 25, 2006 at 5:23 pm

    You’re a lovely person, because those questions drive me NUTS! I have 4, and the one comment i really dislike, “You are BRAVE.” As if I’m walking through walmart with 4 ticking bombs surrounding me, instead of children. Gah.

  10. Scott said,

    February 27, 2006 at 6:52 am

    I’m the kind of person that asks the questions. On a good day I am bursting at the seams, and I love talking to people. Good answers by the way!

  11. Valerie said,

    February 27, 2006 at 7:26 am

    Hee Hee I love your answers!


Leave a Reply

