For My Mother


I am grateful to be your daughter, Mom. I’m thankful that our past is forgiven and that it has shaped us into the women we are today. The saying is true: Mother and Daughter become closer when the Daughter becomes a Mother. I love watching the joy on your face as you watch my daughters. Your love for me was unmistakeable as you massaged my pregnant belly so long ago. Your love for your granddaughters is apparent in the fearless way that you let them take over your home for an afternoon/a weekend/an entire week. Thirty two years ago, I was growing inside your belly. We were still not as close then as we are now. I look forward to the decades of friendship that lie ahead, spent drinking coffee, playing Scrabble, and making each other laugh. Happy Birthday Mom! I love you today.

10 Comments

  1. February 21, 2006 at 4:40 pm

    Wow, this is great!

  2. Joy said,

    February 21, 2006 at 6:13 pm

    Oh, this made me teary- eyed, Erin. What a message!

    I miss my mom so much, being away from her is not that easy…

    Don’t miss out an opportunity to be with her. You know, if only I could have my mom everyday with me, I would be the happiest person in this world.

    Joyeux anniversaire à ta maman!

  3. deputyswife said,

    February 21, 2006 at 9:01 pm

    Beautiful picture and post!

  4. JennyBee said,

    February 21, 2006 at 11:28 pm

    I marvel in a mother daughter relationship. I have one mother, one step-mom, a MIL and two ‘adopted moms’ and I still miss having a mom. Enjoy what you have there. It is very precious.

  5. Jenn said,

    February 22, 2006 at 8:15 am

    Very sweet! I hope she has a lovely day.

  6. Lucinda said,

    February 22, 2006 at 10:25 am

    That is awesome. Now I love your mother, too. 🙂

  7. Christine said,

    February 22, 2006 at 10:52 am

    Awwwww, that was so nicely written! Moms are the best, aren’t they? Happy birthday your yours!

  8. Lala's world said,

    February 22, 2006 at 11:06 am

    what a beautiful tribute

  9. irene said,

    February 22, 2006 at 11:54 am

    awww, so beautiful! Happy Birthday to your Mom!

  10. Zephra said,

    February 22, 2006 at 6:27 pm

    I might need to use some of that letter. It was beautifully written.


Leave a Reply

