Annual Event

Since puberty began mwpthfmpteen years ago, I have engaged in the annual event of shedding my winter coat. That’s a nice way to say what it really is: ridding myself of the braidable hair on my legs, accumulated from October thru February. Each year, I contemplate using the household weedwhacker (I’m Irish and quite furry, donchaknow!) and eventually, I am faced with the preservation of my delicate, pale skin. I always have relied on a specific depilatory cream, which this year, boasts a four-minute process boldly on the yellow bottle. Since Mondays are a day where Princess is in her first-grade class, and Sweet Pea is attending preschool, I just have Stinker at home with me. So when my two year old was down for a nap, I seized the short time to apply aforementioned depilatory cream. Almost as soon as I applied it to my left leg, it began to tingle. Despite the warning signs, I moved on and applied it to my right leg. Over the next three minutes, the tingling progressed to absolute burning, at which point I leapt into the waiting shower and couldn’t get that stuff off my legs fast enough! The cool water of the shower helped immensely, so I finished with my regular shower routine (I won’t bore you with the details), and noted that my legs were now furry-no-more. While I dried off, a similar burning began again. When I looked down at the inside of my knees, they were growing bright red, raised hives! OW! I quickly applied cortisone cream (us fair-skinned folk keep tubes in every room of the house), and while that was nearly two hours ago, I have yet to feel relief. So what am I doing blogging, you ask? I’m just wondering if any others have had a similar experience. No advice necessary. I already know that I should have done the cheesy ‘patch test’ 24 hours before I actually slathered the flesh-scalding acid to my legs. Never have to worry about it again. It’s already in the trash – outside.

5 Comments

  1. JennyBee said,

    February 13, 2006 at 5:07 pm

    bwaaa, I have done that same thing!!!! (It’s the Irish Grandma’s that do me in!!) Oh, I hope you feel better. Lydocane (sp?)Burn spray helps too.

  2. Jenn said,

    February 13, 2006 at 10:56 pm

    I haven’t used that stuff in a long time (just razors, when I actually think of it). Guess I won’t be buying it anytme soon, either.

  3. Erin said,

    February 13, 2006 at 11:52 pm

    Patch test? What’s that? 😉

    Actually, I just stick with the razors… I might cut myself, but I don’t have to worry about losing my flesh to it’s burning properties!

    Hope you are feeling better.

  4. Lala's world said,

    February 14, 2006 at 7:09 pm

    I used Nair for the first time recently, it burned me so bad!! I also used it on…..uhhum…my hubby’s back….sshhh… and it left him with quite a rash and he has the thickest skin around….

  5. Anonymous said,

    February 14, 2006 at 9:28 pm

    I used that stuff for the last 3 years… until this last October. It did the same thing to me. Ugh! Now how am I going to find time to de-hair my legs? I used to put on my short shorts, slather it on up to my knees (I have no hair above that), set the timer, get back to working with the kids for a few minutes, when timer went off, I’d wash it off. It took much less time than shaving.

    If you find anything easy and not time consuming for this sort of thing… PLEASE let me know.

    Julie


Leave a Reply

