What are eyebrows for anyway?

As was routine after a good feeding with my newborn daughter, I put her on my shoulder and patted her on the back (read: whacked her repeatedly for several minutes) until she produced a resounding belch. Of course, DH and I cheered her accomplishment. A moment after that, it struck me as strange, so I asked my husband, “At what age do we stop congratulating her on expelling gas?”My fresh-out-of-college Prince Charming replied, “What do you mean?” Seven years later, we have three daughters that laugh hysterically before they announce : ‘Excuse Me’ for a burp, or ‘Pardon Me’ for gas. My seven year old feels it’s her duty to comment on the odiferous qualities of each one. She was once heard to say to her five year old sister, “That was a good one! Do I still have eyebrows?!” Ahh. My girls are actually boys in floral prints. What’s nice is that I can now use the statement I heard my mother say repeatedly when I was young:
My life may be many things, but never boring.

5 Comments

  1. January 30, 2006 at 11:28 am

    Yesterday, our three kids and a neighbor were in the family room doing whatever and I overheard:

    “Who farted”

    They took a vote and decided it was the dog.

  2. Jenn said,

    January 30, 2006 at 6:17 pm

    My little ones find farts hysterical. Burps are midly amusing, but no nearly as good as farts.

  3. January 30, 2006 at 7:57 pm

    How about admonishing your son after he farts while sitting on your lap, “Son! What do you say?”

    “Your welcome!”

    We have some manners to work on.

  4. Lucyspeak said,

    January 30, 2006 at 8:42 pm

    **laughs**
    That’s hilarious and so cute.
    Have you ever noticed that without eyebrows you’re pretty much expresionless? Maybe that’s why dogs seem so human sometimes with their expressions… they have eyebrows!!! (and the ability to drop silent bombs, and look very, very guilty.)

  5. January 31, 2006 at 1:32 am

    hey, mullet photo contest on my blog. COME check it out.


Leave a Reply

