It’s Official Now

My husband has offered to help me with daily chores in the past, but I’ve always laughed him off. I’m an admitted control freak. That’s how I got into the situation our bedroom was in. I was once in the routine of doing two loads of laundry each day: one dark load, one white load. When taking care of a house and a family of five, that’s what’s necessary to stay ahead of the game. Throw in a migraine or two, and I can only keep up with the dishes. To say that I got behind in the laundry is an understatement. The laundry staged a revolt, looking to take over my bedroom. Actually, my DH had just run out of clean underwear. Let me put minds at ease. DH didn’t a) wear a dirty pair, or b) go commando. He wore boxers instead of his usual briefs. I know that he was frustrated and very unhappy, but said nothing. I later thanked him, also telling my DH that he couldn’t have made me feel any worse than I was already feeling. So, I found several pair of his briefs, washed/dried them and put them back in his drawer. When DH was kissing me goodbye yesterday, he asked me to get all the laundry washed and dried, piling the clean clothes on our bed if I chose to. He promised to help me put it all away when he got home from work. Whoa! My husband volunteered to help with LAUNDRY.

DH came home at 7PM, and I had done just as he had requested. There was still a load in the washer, one in the dryer, and one waiting to be washed. We tag-teamed folding/hanging up clothes and got all the ones lying on the bed put away. It was 10PM, and the bed was looking mighty inviting. I couldn’t resist. I climbed in and don’t remember anything after that! I awoke this morning prepared to finish up the laundry I had left to do, but found it already taken care of. On top of that, DH had cleaned the laundry room: top, front and sides of the washer and dryer, swept around the machines, organized my laundry supplies. I have loved my husband since long before we were married, especially today. DH really is my Prince Charming!

7 Comments

  1. Zephra said,

    January 24, 2006 at 10:23 am

    Awww that was so nice. See, men can do laundry. I told my husband that but ghe just didn’t believe me.

  2. Anonymous said,

    January 24, 2006 at 12:05 pm

    My DH doesn’t do laundry much, but he has once or twice when I was really sick and the first week after my shoulder surgery. I was proud of him. When it gets down to the wire, he’s there for me. I LOVE my husband. I’m glad yours is so wonderful to you as well. Good husbands do exist in this world and we HAVE them. YAY!

    Julie – http://julie.marzhillstudios.com

  3. January 24, 2006 at 3:16 pm

    LOL!!!!!!!!I was laughing so hard. You have just described my laundry down to the last pair of britches. I keep telling hubby if he would only buy me one of those front load 65 lb washers and commercial dryers, we would be good. (only if). I am a control freak over colors and linens. I think a National Geo. special on dust mites has ruined me forever! Thanks for the smiles, gotta run, laundry calling.

  4. Jenn said,

    January 24, 2006 at 6:45 pm

    Ug, the never-ending chore. I just put 6 loads away today and have atleast three more waiting to be washed. It’s so easy to get behind. Congrats on the help!

  5. Theresa said,

    January 25, 2006 at 8:52 am

    And you aare going to share the secret to getting him to help when?

  6. deputyswife said,

    January 25, 2006 at 4:15 pm

    Nothing better than a man doing laundry!!!

  7. Lala's world said,

    January 26, 2006 at 10:54 am

    do you allow your DH to make house calls??? HELP I NEED HELP, laundry is backed up about 20 loads with no end in sight, I need reinforcements here!!!!


Leave a Reply

