Sweet Pea’s Pee-Pee Issues

I give Sweet Pea the credit for getting her almost four year old sister potty-trained about three years ago. Sweet Pea herself was almost two , and allowed me to turn it into a competition. When Sweet Pea woke up, my first goal was to get her on the toilet. She peed every time, and I went berserk with my obnoxious applauding and cheering. Princess would be in the doorway of the bathroom in short order, saying, “I can do that, too!” So Sweet Pea has been potty-trained for more than three years, and staying dry through the night for the same amount of time. Knowing that, you will understand the confusion that DH and I faced in the last months, when Sweet Pea began wetting the bed at night. First once, then once a week, which progressed to twice a week. We dutifully woke her up before we went to bed each night and put her on the toilet. Sweet Pea, in the same spirit, dutifully peed every time. The downward spiral continued, until she was wetting the bed each night, even after we had taken her on a ‘midnight run’ to the potty. DH and I decided that it was time to consult the pediatrician. We’ve been seeing this wonderful doctor since Sweet Pea was just a few weeks old.

Sweet Pea’s appointment was on Monday afternoon. The doc asked me about her voiding habits and if they had changed. I answered the way any mom with three kids would: “I don’t think so.” His thought was she’s not sitting on the toilet long enough. Sweet Pea is an active kid who would rather be out playing with her friends in the yard than sitting on the toilet. Hindsight’s 20/20 right? I have been racking my brain for days, but I cannot think of a time that I’ve seen my daughter sit for more than one minute on the toilet. The doctor told me that if she’s full of stool, it’s pressing on her bladder. While she’s able to compensate for that pressure during the day, she is more relaxed at night, and lets it go. He sent us to have Sweet Pea’s bowels x-rayed. We were told that we’d have an answer in 24 hours. The was Monday at 2PM. Well, we learned today that the results of the x-ray weren’t delivered to the pediatrician until 4:30PM on Wednesday. The head nurse, Mrs. McDonald (no kidding), called me this morning to tell me that the doctor was right. The x-rays show the truth: My five year old daughter is full of sh*t. My sweet baby is apparently quite backed up. Sweet Pea’s going to need a bowel cleansing medication every day for a month or longer. And,what’s more, I’ll need to inspect every BM. Takes the redneck saying, “Ya’ll come look at this before I flush it!” to another level!

9 Comments

  1. January 19, 2006 at 3:10 pm

    Oh shit!

    I wonder if my son has anything similar. He hates to poop, and wets the bed routinely. Only he’s 8 and has always wet the bed.

    Hmm.

    Good luck with that! And, no photos, please.

  2. January 19, 2006 at 6:28 pm

    What we do (do) as mothers, you know!?

    that is really interesting to know because my daughter is doing the same once a week. Very interesting. hmmmmmmmmmmm

  3. Zephra said,

    January 19, 2006 at 8:12 pm

    Just another thing you and I have in common. When my kids hit about that age, they all seem to get backed up. Zain was so bad he would wake screaming in the night. I had to make a 2 am run to Walmart for suppositories once. He was the one who ate fruit all the time too… Poor Kamran got it bad because I didn’t know he was backed up for over a year. He would leak #2 and I would get so frustrated thinking he was just too lazy to go to the bathroom. I had no idea being constipated could do that to you and I am sure he would be thrilled if he knew I was sharing this with you (so don’t tell).

    I hope too that your doc did a urine dip to make sure she did not have any kind of bladder infection…That is another story.

  4. Jenn said,

    January 20, 2006 at 8:36 am

    That is interesting info. My oldest sometimes has problems with leaking and even occasionally still wets the bed (even though she thinks I don’t know). I guess I’ll have to have a talk with her. She’d absolutely die if she knew I was mentioning this. Good thing she doesn’t know what a blog is!

  5. Theresa said,

    January 20, 2006 at 9:01 am

    Now I didn’t even know that was possible.

  6. Erin said,

    January 20, 2006 at 9:05 am

    Oh, I’m sorry she is going through such a tough time. My daughter has chronic withholding issues, and it is not fun. Good luck with the bathroom battle!!

  7. Tee said,

    January 20, 2006 at 4:53 pm

    ROFL! I’m sure your daughter is going to be so pleased with this blog entry one day 😉

    What an awesome doctor to diagnose something so weird! LOL.

  8. deputyswife said,

    January 21, 2006 at 12:22 am

    We have had the same problem with my middle one. It has been frustrating here. If I could offer a suggestion that really worked for us. Set up specific times a day for “poopy potty time” (that is what we call it. gross, I know.) Nate sits at 9, 12:30, and 5. He goes all three times. Our doc said this would get him into a routine and learn that he must sit there for a bit to get results. We use an egg timer and set it for 10 minutes and give him a couple of books. We have had great results doing it this way. After awhile, we decreased to only twice a day. After that, we will go to one.

    Maybe this would work for her too? Good luck!

  9. Erin said,

    January 22, 2006 at 7:38 pm

    Hi, new here. Maybe you could send your girls to Michigan to potty train my almost 4 yo Boo. I think it is a power struggle with ME! She’ll go no problem for dad. For me? Not so much. I could cry about it. btw, just read “your story” at tbi.com. Amazing. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

