Frightening!

Many of you know that I have finally come to a decision about what I’d like to be when I grow up. My classes at The Institute for Bodyworks Studies will begin in the Fall of 2006. I called the school and basically made a pest of myself to get all my questions (and DH’s questions) answered. I am so very eager to get started that I paid for my textbook and picked it up last week. The $70 dollars will be deducted from my tuition this Fall. I called DH to let him know that I had picked it up, and he asked me to promise not to read it cover to cover that day. While I did scan the text, I managed to miss the graphic illustrations of human anatomy. I have always thought that the Anatomy portion of the schooling would be a ‘refresher class’ for me, after EMT school. No Sweat, right? Boy was I wrong! The textbook also came with a CD computer-software program. This is just a KNEE:

I had to learn bones and major blood vessels in my emergency medicine education. Now, I will be tested over bones, blood vessels, nerves, tendons, ligaments, and individual muscles! This level of knowledge frightens me. Deeply. At least I know what I’m up against.

5 Comments

  1. Jenn said,

    January 17, 2006 at 1:52 pm

    I don’t know what you want to be when you grow up I’m new here. What? Doctor? Nurse?

  2. January 17, 2006 at 2:28 pm

    I forgot that some of you might be new, Jenn. I’m going to be a Registered Massage Therapist when I grow up!

  3. January 17, 2006 at 3:57 pm

    Go, Erin!!

    My wife teaches A&P (1 and 2) as well as freshman biology (sometimes) at a local school. And yes, A&P is just about 90% memorization, it seems, which is why I could never pass her class.

  4. Lindsay said,

    January 17, 2006 at 5:35 pm

    I’m going through nursing and just finished A&P about a month ago. Don’t freak yourself out- prepare.
    Use the CD-Rom, read, use the course objectives and review found in the book, and memorize. You’ll do awesome! 🙂

  5. Anonymous said,

    January 17, 2006 at 6:04 pm

    I took a college A&P class long ago. I really enjoyed it, but it was a lot of memorization. I’m sure you’ll do fine.

    Julie – http://julie.marzhillstudios.com


Leave a Reply

