I often repeat myself

Yes, to my daughters, but also to upon encountering a stranger. I’m the kind of woman who never met a stranger. I find something in common with everyone, and can begin a conversation with someone I may never see again. In the course of conversation, I frequently say, “My daughters may not be redheaded on the outside, but they are redheads on the inside!” Princess recently went shopping with me, and during my conversation with a stranger in the store, she shouted, “YOU TELL THAT SAME CRAP TO EVERY PERSON YOU TALK TO!” I was silently wishing that the floor would open up and swallow me. I kept my wits about me, bent over, took Princess by the arm and said quietly through my teeth:” You have embarrassed me and the woman I am speaking with, and we both need an apology. NOW.” Princess quickly apologized, and we got the heckoutofdodge. On the drive home, I told Princess that while she might hear things over and over again that I say, I’m confident when I use those sayings. I know that they make others laugh. I asked my seven year old ,”Haven’t you told the same joke over and over just to hear your friends laugh?” When she nodded her head, I said, “Because you want people to like you, huh?” She said a barely audible, “Yes.” So I didn’t have to turn the situation around, and tell all the people that she meets, “She says that stuff to everyone she meets!” Enough said, I hope.

7 Comments

  1. chronicler said,

    January 6, 2006 at 10:52 am

    Hi Erin! Valerie sent me! Via Michele! I love this post! My sister is just like you. She amazes me all the time because she has never met a stranger. It cracks me up that there is always something she can find in common with enyone.

    Hey and way to handle the princess! That was a good mom!

  2. Valerie said,

    January 6, 2006 at 11:01 am

    Good way to show her just what you meant. You are a great mom Erin.

  3. Anonymous said,

    January 6, 2006 at 11:07 am

    Oh my! Yeah, so embarrassing, but at least you were able to handle it well in the car explaining it to her.

  4. Zephra said,

    January 6, 2006 at 11:39 am

    I am starting to think Your daughters and I would have a blast if we went out together…Thet say the darndest things.

  5. Tee said,

    January 6, 2006 at 12:25 pm

    Oh my gosh!! I can feel your embaressment from here. I would have turned red and wanted to die. I hate when kids do that to ya! You handled it very well!

    (I tagged you 🙂

  6. Joy said,

    January 6, 2006 at 7:22 pm

    That was embarassing, but you handled it well. Princess didn’t really mean it that bad. What’s important is you explained to her why she had to apologize. Children surprise us in so many ways!

    I was just bloghopping and got hold of your site. I enjoyed reading your posts, I can relate. *smile* and I love your answer to the neverending what-do-you-do-for-a-living question. Perfect!

    I’ll be a regular visitor :-). Have a great day!

  7. irene said,

    January 7, 2006 at 2:07 am

    I’m so amazed by the way you handled the situation! I hope I’ll remember this a couple of years from now!


Leave a Reply

