I applaud the spirit of acceptance

I took the girls for a surprise dinner at BK last night, since DH wouldn’t be home until after they were asleep. Okay. I’ll tell the truth: I like to be the fun parent now and then. I’ve seen commercials about the new toys that BK is including in the kids’ meals, and my daughters saw them as well. Over last weekend, I heard: FURBEEEEEZ! Mom! BK has 100 different Furby toys! Can we eat there soon? Puhleeze momma? Cue the pouty, puppy-dog eyes and the endearing quivering bottom lip, and they had me. I’m proud of myself though. I didn’t take them right away. I made my daughters wait…until Wednesday. Come on! In a preschooler’s perception it seems like a long week.

Luckily, when we arrived at BK, there was no one else eating. After Princess, Sweet Pea and Stinker ogled the display of possibilities for the toy in their meal, I approached the counter to place an order. I explained that I’d like for each of my daughters to have a different colored toy in their meal. The young woman looked puzzled. Halie was immediately at my side, and as she locked eyes with the young woman, my daughter decided that since her coloring was different that she must speak Spanish. Halie knows very few words in Spanish, not even one that she does not butcher. Halie decided that the girl behind the counter needed some instructions in Spanish, so my seven year old began rattling off our order in complete ‘Spanish’ gibberish. The cashier politely smiled and we exchanged glances. She leaned over to me and said, “I’m not Mexican. I’m from Nicaragua.”
I replied in the same hushed tones, “She just likes to think that she knows a foreign language.”
The cashier smiled, handed me our order, and we went into the playroom in the back of the restaurant. When we drove home later, pulled into the garage and began to pile out of the SUV. I heard Halie shouting, “Hola!” to our sweet neighbors next door. They are a couple in their 70s from Cambodia! I had to call DH and tell him about this. After hearing the events, my husband laughed and said, “Well, we live in Texas, she was just playing the percentages.” I’m wishing that I had focused on Spanish classes rather than the ‘French’ I took for two years and have never needed again. Hindsight’s always 20/20, isn’t it?
BTW, the girls did get three different colored Furby toys, and they have not fought over them one time so far.

5 Comments

  1. Zephra said,

    January 5, 2006 at 8:07 am

    OMG Erin. Zain is doing the same thing. He thinks he speaks fluent spanish and does it constantly. He forces strangers to listen to him count to 30. To be honest, it is driving me nuts. You must be way more patient than me.

  2. Valerie said,

    January 5, 2006 at 9:24 am

    LOL that is so cute. Thank god you got a patient and understanding woman at BK’s. I agree with your DH though she was just playing the percentages.

  3. January 5, 2006 at 12:07 pm

    My kids are 11 and 14 now but I remember the fast food toy obsessions and silly scenes so clearly. Your story rang so true except that your kids haven’t fought over the Furbys yet.

  4. Anonymous said,

    January 5, 2006 at 6:27 pm

    My husband put down his foot the last time we went out and we had five kid meal toys laying all over the floor. He made them throw them away and said they weren’t allowed to get anymore for a while.

    Julie

  5. Buffi said,

    January 5, 2006 at 9:46 pm

    Furby is the spawn of the devil. He is not allowed in my house ever again. Even the little BK ones. They are the gateway Furbies, you know.


Leave a Reply

