I’m turning into my parents!

I heard myself say something recently that sounded just like my mother circa 1985. It freaked me out, and DH spent the better part of an hour reassuring me that I am NOT my mother. The Mom that I now consider my friend is not the Mom that I remember from childhood. One of the advantages to aging: mellowing. My mother and father have mellowed in the years between full-time parenthood and grandparenthood. Having three daughters of my own, with the oldest two having personalities comparable to me and my younger sister, I have a virtual window into my mother’s daily life. My own mother should have owned a referee’s jersey and a whistle. I often wish I owned those, too. I have immense respect for my parents and the job that they did with what they knew at the time. My family motto is represented by one of my favorite Mary Engelbreit prints.

What do you say that makes you sound just like your own parents? Did you make yourself a promise like, ‘I will never do that to my children!’, only to find yourself doing that very thing with your own kids? Just curious to know if every other parent deals with the same issues…I know you do!

I recently asked my DH, “Is it wrong that I’m looking so forward to grandkids while my own children are still living at home?” DH replied, “I don’t think so, but ask other moms about it.”

2 Comments

  1. Jenny Bee said,

    December 3, 2005 at 11:53 pm

    I cannot wait for my grandkids. I would love a sewing room or den. hehe. Look forward to it, but don’t forget the now.

    I always think that children take on the best in their parents, typically. Respecting parents doesn’t mean you agree with every choice they made when raising you. It means you appreciate them and do not put them in a negative light. I have witnessed your gracious attitude toward them (and have been equally blessed by example of how I can do the same)

    You will never be your mother, just a reflection of her best.

  2. Zephra said,

    December 4, 2005 at 9:26 am

    I had something really clever to say about your post yesterday but the word verification was messed up and I could not comment. Now I have forgotten what it was. Old age sucks. And yes I am looking forward to the grandkids so I can give them candy and loud toys and send them home to their parents.


Leave a Reply

