Hurry up…WAIT. Hurry up…WAIT.


That is what traffic in DFW is like: gas, brake…gas, brake…gas, brake. Why does it seem that the whole world is in such a dadgum hurry? With or without turn signals, inconsiderate drivers wedge into the smallest breaks in traffic, even when the driver has known for the last 1/2 mile that their lane was merging with the next one. That’s just ‘rush hour’. Then there is the perpetual reconstruction of our expressways, highways and interstates. I know that even as one major project finally ends on our roads, another one begins, and the traffic jams simply rotate to another area of Dallas. TXDOT has to keep hiring because there is always a new major road to repair. Guess there is a high turnover rate in Road Repairs.

I am grateful that I deal with traffic on my terms. I am blessed to stay home with my daughters and have a relatively flexible schedule. I get to choose the hour at which I travel across the metroplex, thus avoiding traffic. I deliberately shop at Wal-Mart after my girls are tucked in bed in the evening, leaving DH on Snore Patrol, simply so I can be unrushed and kind to the other shoppers. I just get a happy feeling when I say, “You go ahead. I’ve got all the time in the world.” Strangers don’t know that the very shopping trip I’m on is the very first time in days that I’ve been out without my three daughters. Since my accident two years ago, I am never in a hurry. When I find myself rushing my kids to get them out the door, or find myself double-checking the speed limit signs on my neighborhood streets, I remind myself of this fact: No one is going to die or lose their job because I’m not there early.

4 Comments

  1. Buffi said,

    November 29, 2005 at 7:35 am

    My best friend is always calling me while she is driving home from work (Irving to Bedford) so that she can vent to me and not give in to road rage! Yes, I get the benefit of all of her pent up frustration with Dallas traffic.

    And SD wonders why I don’t want to settle there when we get out of the AF!

  2. Zephra said,

    November 29, 2005 at 7:53 am

    Makes me want to slow down. It seems to me that I am always behind someone who is not even going the speed limit. That drives me insane. You are right about Dallas road projects…they last forever.

  3. Anonymous said,

    November 29, 2005 at 2:32 pm

    Part of the reason I’m glad I no longer live in the city. We used to live in St. Louis, but now we’re in the middle of nowhere, IL. My DH still has a 20 mile commute, but it is through the country to another small town (though bigger than our itsy, bitsy town.) He actually gets there in about 20 minutes. The thing we have to worry about is deer leaping out in front of us.

    Julie – http://julie.marzhillstudios.com

  4. Tee said,

    November 29, 2005 at 3:57 pm

    A GREAT reminder! Someone should say this on the news each morning and night!

    I wish I could shop WalMart solo. That’s as close to Heaven as a SAHM can get. LOL.


Leave a Reply

