Halie’s Birthday Bike


Although Halie’s seventh birthday is not until December 7, my father promised her a bike as a gift. Halie’s ‘Papa’ picked her up on Saturday after lunch and took her to a family friend’s cycling store that recently celebrated 25 years in business. This is the place where Discovery Team members Lance Armstrong and Patrick McCarty got their start. My father has been cycling for as long as I can remember, so before he arrived to pick Halie up, I reiterated to her that “Papa is a seasoned pro – don’t question him.” I knew that Halie was afraid of trying to ride without training wheels. I mean at her core. My dad did try to get her to at least try a bike or two with no training wheels. He walked on one side and the owner of the shop walked on the other side, and each time that Halie began to lose her balance, they would reach out to ‘catch’ her. Even with two strong men on either side offering protection, she was in serious tears before the ride was over. Halie did find a bike that she l-o-v-e-s, and a basket that matches, as well as a new helmet. DH and I are kicking ourselves for idiotically putting her on the same bicycle, wearing the same helmet since she was three.
Okay, our buns are sufficiently bruised. We have agreed to set a better example for our daughters with our fitness levels, and we’re looking for bicycles of our own. After all, we’re much too out of shape to run behind Halie and Catie, trying to keep up with them on their bicycles! They are speedy. As for DH and myself? Not so much. But maybe with a bicycle or two…

3 Comments

  1. Tee said,

    November 28, 2005 at 12:22 pm

    I keep saying I’m going to get a bike, too, but haven’t gotten around to it. Now it’s cold and I’ll wait until spring.

    My 7 year old just learned to ride without training wheels this past Spring, so don’t sweat it. When she starts to see other kids zooming around without them, she’ll want to do it, too.

  2. November 28, 2005 at 8:39 pm

    Hooray for you!

    I badly miss Richardson Bike Mart, I try to visit any time I’m in the area. Somewhere on my site I’ve got pics of me and the kids riding our tandem together, as well as pics of them on their own bikes.

    Cycling is great, great fun, and most kids take to it like fish to water!

  3. Buffi said,

    November 29, 2005 at 7:33 am

    She looks so very proud! Yay Halie!


Leave a Reply

