The Mullet Revisited


It’s been suggested that the title of this post should read: You Might Be a Redneck Child. Catie decided she’d design her own shorter hairdo today. Problem being that she used scissors, so it’s permanent. Or semi-permanent. At least until it grows out. After two hair ‘repair trips’ to Great Clips with Halie after she had done a similar chop-job on her own hair, I’m not going back to assuage my own fear of ridicule. Catie’s just going to have to live with it. Through Thanksgiving and Christmas, with all the photos snapped by family members. *sigh*

6 Comments

  1. Busy Mom said,

    November 23, 2005 at 2:15 pm

    Oh, dear…

  2. 1happyjunker said,

    November 23, 2005 at 2:22 pm

    I can totally relate! My older son butchered his little brother’s hair right before the holidays. He snipped an inverted “V” front and center and clipped it to the scalp at the center point. It was horrific and there wasn’t much I could do unless I wanted to shave his head. And of course all the Christmas photos that year showcased his great talent.

  3. Tee said,

    November 23, 2005 at 7:40 pm

    Oh no! I haven’t had this happen with my boys yet, thank God. LOL. They both have nice long hair – not a buzz cut like most boys. I have no idea how they’d look.

    Looks like it isn’t too bad – just trim some of those stragglers.

  4. Zephra said,

    November 24, 2005 at 5:57 am

    She doesn’t look very happy with it. My nephew would do this so often that the last time, my SIL shaved him bald. We though for sure he would learn his lesson. As he sat in the barber chair getting his hair wacked off…he laughed and loved it when it was done. He never did cut his hair again though. My daughter Sara has done this several times too. Iwould get so mad because she is taking medicine that makes her hair grow slowly. Thank God she outgrew it.

  5. Anonymous said,

    November 24, 2005 at 9:04 pm

    My three oldest kids have done this, so far the younger two haven’t yet. Three years ago, the week before Thanksgiving, Amie and James decided to cut each other’s hair. I buzzed his head and you could still see a spot where she’d gotten down to his scalp. Her hair was so bad, I had to cut it into the traditional boys layered look. They look enough alike that EVERYONE thought she was James the day she wore some brown overalls. It was so traumatic that she has never wanted to try it again. The week after that our landlord came over and borrowed our scissors. He left them out. I found out when I caught Christine “trimming” her bangs. She cut one part down to the scalp. No way to fix it, so she lived with it. She hasn’t tried to cut her hair again either and I think James learned his lesson too.

    Julie – http://julie.marzhillstudios.com

  6. Jenny Bee said,

    December 18, 2005 at 10:34 pm

    So what is wrong with “business on top and party in back”? This week better get better for you!! *hugs!*

    Thank goodness hair grows. At our house we call this “Playdoh Hair” (compliments of Playdoh scissors).


Leave a Reply

