Poker Night

On Sunday evening, we actually hired a babysitter to watch our girls while we enjoyed Poker Night with friends. My niece, K, is 16 years old and saving money for the expenses involved with the car she will soon have. Besides knowing her prestigious pedigree, I know she’s a phenomenal young woman and has many families who trust her with their children. So K spent the night with our daughters: Halie 6, Catie 5, and Rosie 2. Since there is no school this week, I told my girls that they had my permission to have a ‘slumber party’: eat popcorn, watch movies and stay up late. Bedtime on school nights is 7:30PM, so I thought for sure they would all be asleep by 9PM, at the latest. When DH and I got home at midnight, we found Catie crashed on the sleeper in the living room, Halie zonked in her own bed, and Rosie looked like she had been shot – frozen where she dropped. Stretched out next to her was K, happily snoozing.

K told me this morning that the girls fell asleep not long before we got home, and in the opposite order of what I had expected: Halie first, Catie second, and Rosie third. She told me that Rosie still wanted to play while she was in her bed, so K decided to lie down with her. Next thing she knew – she was asleep. I explained that I often find myself in the same situation!

So, DH and I went with money, but came home with none. Texas Hold’Em: you might be good, but you’re not garanteed a win. Good thing we have ‘fun money’ budgeted for nights just like these. No more poker parties for a couple of months.

7 Comments

  1. Erin said,

    November 21, 2005 at 11:15 pm

    Hee hee hee! If that isn’t birth control, I don’t know what is! LOL!

    Glad you guys got some time out!

  2. Erin said,

    November 22, 2005 at 8:02 am

    Erin – Hey! Great name! We’re not so good with BC, or couldn’t you tell? I tell people who are silly enough to ask me ‘if they are all mine’ the following: “Yes, they are ALL mine. I finally found a doctor who was able to explain the part of my 8th grade Health class that I slept through, and he put a stop to it for me!”

  3. Tee said,

    November 22, 2005 at 11:00 am

    Great that you got a “date night” out. I miss those! And your girls seem to have had a fun time 🙂 I used to love having a babysitter when I was little.

  4. Zephra said,

    November 22, 2005 at 12:25 pm

    Morning Erin. I wish I could get a night away from the kids with hubby. He wont let anyone else watch them. I guess after listening to my childhood I can’t blame him…Still, I am jealous.

  5. Plumkrazzee said,

    November 22, 2005 at 1:53 pm

    Hi Erin,

    Love the Mary E picture! I am addicted to her stuff, and have been collecting for over 10 years. Here’s a picture of my kitchen, and one of my master bath, in case you wanna visit.

    http://sissypie.blogspot.com/2005/11/as-promised-paint-pictures.html

    http://sissypie.blogspot.com/2005/11/master-bath-something-fun.html

    My kitchen/bedroom/master bath are all Mary. ( I even have a cherry red microwave!) Have a happy day!

  6. Anonymous said,

    November 22, 2005 at 2:58 pm

    How sweet! That picture of Rosie and K is priceless. When she is older and getting ready to marry, you can pull out that picture to show him what a great mom she’ll be.

    I’m glad you got some time out and away. It’s always good to be able to do that, isn’t it?

  7. Armaedes said,

    November 22, 2005 at 3:27 pm

    That’s a great picture; I assume you had K’s permission to post it, otherwise you might be out 1 babysitter.


Leave a Reply

