Finally funny jokes that I actually GET!

My daughters are famous for telling ‘Knock knock’ jokes that make absolutely no sense. Catie is the best (or worst) at it, and we refer to her jokes as ‘Surrealist Humor”:

Catie: Knock knock!

DH: Who’s there?

C: What do you get when the cow jumps over the moon?

DH: *SIGH* What do you get when the cow jumps over the moon who?

C: DAD! You’re not doin’ the joke right!

DH: You said ‘Knock knock’, and I said ‘Who’s there?’ Isn’t that how a knock knock joke is supposed to go?

C: Nevermind.

Two minutes later:

C: Mom, I’ve got a joke for you!

Me: Okay. Knock-knock.

C: Who’s th- WAIT! I’m telling this joke!

Me: You’re right. I goofed. Go ahead.

C: Knock Knock!

Me: Who’s there?

C: What happened to the cow who jumped over the moon?

Me: *SIGH* Not a clue, sweet pea.

C: His bottom got BURNED by the moon!

Me: ?? (over my head)

DH: Then why isn’t it called a moonburn instead of a sunburn when your skin turns red?

C: Because I made it up all by myself!

My thoughts: *Really? I thought for sure you had a writer giving you those lines.*

DH did share a couple of good jokes today. At least I think they’re good, because they made me laugh. Out loud. Body-shaking. There was even one snort. I’ll share:

Q: Why do mermaids wear seashells to cover their breasts?
A: Because deeshells would be way too big.

Q: What do you call a midget psychic who has broken out of prison?
A: A small medium at large.

Hang on. Let. me. stop. snorting. Okay. I needed a good laugh today, and DH provided it. I love it that we can still make each other laugh hysterically!

5 Comments

  1. Buffi said,

    November 14, 2005 at 11:44 pm

    Catie & Bear must have taken the same joke telling class. I won’t even torture you with last nights “routine.”

    PS The mermaid joke is awesome!

  2. Anonymous said,

    November 15, 2005 at 4:05 am

    Just found your blog through various links from other blogs. I’m glad to find another Christian mom out there.

    My two older kids (ages 8 and almost 7) love jokes too, especially the ones they make up. I found some clean joke books at the Family Christian Book store that I’ll stick in their stockings. Maybe I’ll hear some I’ll get to laugh at after that.

    I also loved the mermaid joke. I LOL and almost woke the baby.

    Julie – http://julie.marzhillstudios.com

  3. Zephra said,

    November 15, 2005 at 8:23 am

    Very funny. I sent you an e mail.

  4. Tee said,

    November 15, 2005 at 10:44 am

    LOL! We go through joke telling phases around here, too. For some reason Julian (4), thinks “smushed bananas” are hilarious. He made up this joke on his own.

    J: Knock knock.
    Me: Who’s there?
    J: Banana.
    Me: Banana who?
    J: Banana that got all smushed!!! HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    He tells it all the time. LOL.

  5. Valerie said,

    November 15, 2005 at 1:17 pm

    Hee hee those are some cute jokes. I can’t wait until T can tell me some.


Leave a Reply

