Finishing my Education

I guess you could call it ‘changing careers’. I went to a Private Baptist College, studied to serve overseas as a missionary. I met DH before I finished my studies, so I tell folks that while I did not graduate, I got my M.R.S. Degree. I went to a different college out in West Texas, to learn about emergency medicine, then tested and got my license as an EMT. When I found out that I was pregnant, and my OB advised me to leave my stressful job, I became a stay-at-home-mom. After our three daughters are in school, I will have my options open once again. I think that I have finally figured out what I want to be when I grow up.
I know that God designed me to impact others. I prefer to be a positive impact on the people that I come into contact with! I plan to enroll in a Massage Therapy Program. Not the Red Light District kind of massage, but legitimate Massage Therapy that’s becoming recognized by insurance providers. I’ve investigated toured one school near my home that looks promising.

All that to preface a recent episode that I thought was blogtastic: I drove with Halie and Catie in the car on the way to school. Halie opens the conversation by asking me what I’m going to do with my time once all the girls are in school. “I plan to go back to school,” I tell her. “Can you guess what I’ll be learning to do?” Catie chimes in, “Learning to be a better mom?” I laugh and tell her “No.” Now, it’s Halie’s turn. She says “Learning to fly a plane?” I tell Halie “no” as well. When I reveal my plan to become a Massage Therapist, it doesn’t take much explaining. My mother, ‘Granny’, has been one for several years. “Oooo! Free backrubs!” Catie says. Halie says, “No! I bet we’ll still need to pay her, even though she is our mom.” Alrighty then! My bags are packed in preparation for a Guilt Trip!
So I figure that I’ve got at least two willing(if somewhat small) guinea pigs in my house while I’m studying Swedish Massage. I’m hoping that DH will be willing to quiz me on Anatomy! *wink wink*

5 Comments

  1. Buffi said,

    November 10, 2005 at 8:41 pm

    Ooooo! OOoooo! Pick me! Pick me! I’ll be your practice person! I work cheap! (okay, now we’re back to that red light district thing…)

    What West Texas college did you go to? I’m a West Texas girl!

  2. Jenny Bee said,

    November 11, 2005 at 10:41 am

    This post has been removed by the author.

  3. Jenny Bee said,

    November 11, 2005 at 10:46 am

    Erin,

    LOL! The tabbed browser in Mozilla is my FAVORITE but sometimes you actually post a comment on the wrong blog..LOL!
    I was over at “jubalingen’s” blog (Following God’s Will)..LOL! So no mind the deleted comment.

    Good for you doing what you love and finding a way to get paid doing it. The best!

  4. Zephra said,

    November 11, 2005 at 11:46 am

    You are welcome to use me as a guinea pig anyday!

  5. Tee said,

    November 11, 2005 at 2:08 pm

    LOL – Too bad we’re not neighbors. I volunteer!


Leave a Reply

