Way Back Wednesday

Halie, December 1998
When I left the hospital back in December 1998, I had not a clue about being a mother. I had a baby, so now, that made me a mom. My daughter was born six weeks early, but showed no problems. Halie was 18 inches long and weighed in at a whopping 5 pounds when we were released to go home. I was nursing her confidently. After all, I was nursed, my husband was nursed! DH had to face reality: My breasts were designed by God to nourish my baby, not merely entertain him. He shared well. After three weeks of nursing, I suffered a devastating blow: Halie weighed in at 5 pounds, two ounces. WHAT? The pediatrician told me that she needed formula, and that I should give up breastfeeding. WHAT? I refused to give up nursing Halie, and asked for another alternative. The doctor told me that I could continue nursing, but offer formula at the end of each feeding session. He scheduled the next weigh-in for a week later. Being a new mom, I took the pediatrician’s word as gospel. Bad decision, blind trust. I learned my lesson! After a week of breastmilk with a Similac chaser, Halie weighed-in at 6 pounds, 8 ounces. So, Halie got the benefits of both for about a year after that! Look at her NOW!

Halie, July 2005

Halie is still very slim, much like I was before having three babies and being in the house all day, with the refrigerator calling my name. Long and lean. If only I had known what I was getting myself into seven years ago, when I saw the two little pink lines, then asked my husband, “How did this happen?” I can still close my eyes and be transported back to that day: DH put his strong hands on both of my shoulders and looked directly into my eyes. Then he said, “You see, Honey, when two grown ups really love each other, they get married, and this just happens.”

Bwah-ha-ha-ha-ha!

1 Comment

  1. Erin said,

    November 9, 2005 at 12:55 pm

    FYI – My Way Back Wednesday is just to stoll down memory lane, and to showcase some photographs from the past. It’s not really WAY BACK. Besides my wedding pictures, I don’t have any before I had babies (read: When I liked my body at least a little).


Leave a Reply

