D.A.R.E. for First Graders

Drug – Abuse – Resistance – Education
This week is Red Ribbon week at my daughter’s elementary school. I recently sat down with her, prepared to have to explain a lot of things to her about drugs. “Do you know what I mean when I say ‘drugs’? There’s medicine that your doctor prescribes to make you better, and medicine that buy buy at the store, like the Tylenol I give you when you have a fev-“, I began, before Halie stopped me. She told me,”I think it’s about using drugs everyday, whether you need to get better or not. I know that there are drugs that the police will arrest you for, but I’m not sure what they are.” You could have knocked me over with a feather. I’m just glad that my first-grader did not climb in the car and casually ask me, “Momma, what’s crack ?” Whew! Dodged a bullet there. I am prepared to be honest with my children about my past drug abuse, but I hadn’t expected to broach the subject with my daughters at five and six years old! I might as well, before they figure out that Mommy does not know everything.

This week has been a Drug Awareness Week, and there has been a wardrobe to match:

Monday – ‘Sock it to drugs’- wear crazy socks
Tuesday – ‘Team up against drugs’ – wear team shirts
Wednesday – ‘Don’t get tied up with drugs’ – wear a tie
Thursday – ‘Living drug free is no sweat’ – wear sweats
Friday – ‘Red Day’ – wear as much red as possible

Halie has participated so far, except for wearing a tie on Wednesday.
It’s never too early, I have recently discovered. Have you had a talk with your children?

2 Comments

  1. Buffi said,

    October 27, 2005 at 7:41 pm

    Yeah. By third grade, we have done the DARE week several times. SugarPlum tells me that she just doesn’t understand why someone would take drugs like that. So we have discussed not feeling good about yourself, wanting to fit in, etc. Of course, the child listens to KLOVE all the time and (quoting Casting Crowns) tells me, “Mommy, they just need to listen to the voice of truth!”

    Please tell me that she will keep that purity. Tell me that she will listen for the voice of truth when she is sixteen and that cute guy at the party is smoking pot!! *Sigh* This child rearing stuff just gets so complicated!

  2. Jenny Bee said,

    October 28, 2005 at 12:23 pm

    I’m weird about this. Good for you being so proactive at any stage of the game. 5 and 6 is so young to have to talk about this stuff but really a perfect age to do so.

    My kids, (ages 2½, 5, almost 7, and 9) and I talk about ‘chemicals’. Alcohol, ciggies, vitamins, bottles from under the kitchen sink, food, drugs, anything we can put in our bodies. Then we talk about good chemicals in moderation and of course, the bad. Role playing helps.

    “Hi, I’m your neighbor. You can have as many pieces of candy as you like.”

    “Hi, I’m your best friend’s mom. Here’s some asprin.”

    “Hi, I’m a nice person you see at school sometimes. Do you want some candy?”

    “I’m your friend but your a loser if you don’t smoke this.”

    I think it’s important for them to know that drugs come in different forms (this covers a multitude of things!!). The billboard on the way to WallyWorld had pictures of black lungs, rotten teeth and cancerous lips and a cigarette. Really gross but the kids know what it’ll do to them. 🙂


Leave a Reply

